BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.2 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 3041 customer ratings since 2021-07-06 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,292 Customer Reviews over 83 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    In an age where most compete on service in some ways it is interesting to find an organisation that has true contempt for their customers.

    BT pines for the time when it was a monopoly and is genuinely bewildered by the concept of customer service.

    It has been 58 days since I was definitely promised an engineer visit to install my BT fibre-to-the-premises, I have been treated to 39 days of "executive level complaint handling" and I am absolutely no closer to receiving any service whatsoever from this organisation. They just cancelled a promised engineer visit yesterday because a pole is rotten. They failed to spot this when conducting a very much delayed survey.

    A couple of times a week I will get a "I am investigating what further on-going work is required" message but the only advance that occurred was when I sent them a photo of trees that had been trimmed as they are utterly unable to find this out for themselves.

    With executive level complaint handling I receive incompetence and unprofessionalism, it makes me wonder what you get with basic level complaint handling. Do they add arson?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Living in a rural location means I can accept slow speed. However, BT's customer service (from their non-UK) call centre - when something goes wrong - is atrocious.
    They are unable to diagnose, never mind resolve, issues.
    Furthermore, they don't phone back when they've arranged to and refuse to even consider compensation - even where there is documentary evidence of financial loss.
    They're abusing historic goodwill and relying on customer apathy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newport
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm very very disappointed since I've joined bt I'm spending £31 on only broadband yet I've been over charged a few times which was bt fault and claims its a mistake!and due to that I ended up getting debts from the bank each time. Costumer services always give you different information .I also have waisted allot of monthly minutes on just contacting bt. You are losing a jenuinly lovely costumer who quiet frankly had enough and will be thinking of cancelling contract.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service I have EVER came across
    I moved house 8 days ago. Changed my details online 8 days ago. Called then 7 days ago to query why my broadband wasn't working. The details werent changed on their computer. I changed them over the phone. It still didn't work. I called the next day. Details STILL weren't changed. I changed them AGAIN over the phone. Still not working. The following day I was assured repeatedly that my details had been changed and that my broadband would be working by midnight. Shock horror the following morning it still wasn't working. I called back, was told there was nothing wrong their end. That I had to call back when I was at home and someone from the technical dept would assist me. I called back yesterday. Apparently it WAS their problem....that they were having "technical issues". But I was assured my broadband d would be up and running by midnight. Would you believe...I woke this morning and it's STILL not working. I called AGAIN at 8am today, to be told my details hadn't been changed! After an hour on the phone, being passed from advisor to advisor (most of which couldn't understand a word I was saying!), I was assured yet again that my broadband would be working by midnight, she even had to the cheek to say "you can trust me". Pfft. It's now half past midnight and surprise surprise it's STILL NOT WORKING!! After countless amounts of phone calls....each time speaking to at least 4 diff advisors. I can safely say I am sick to the back teeth with bt. They are the worst customer advisors I have EVER had to deal with
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    It's rubbish and a waste of money. Took a minute to just search and load this site. Virgin media is better by a mile. Like they say, you get what you pay for.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London, England
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We've been with BT for more than four years now, in the last year our broadband has started to simply stop working at random times. This is not convenient for me as I often have to conduct online meetings with overseas offices from home. It came to the point where I have now moved to EE. However, in the last month of their service, once I had informed them that I would not renew the contract, the broadband simply stopped working for good, with the hub constantly flashing orange. It seems as if BT cut my broadband off before the end of the contract because I had upset them. This means I have had to pay more than £50 for broadband that I didn't receive this month. Beware of BT they will not play by the rules.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ripon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    No internet for a month. Bt keep changing the date to repair. Not interested in their customers at all.
    Customer service what service.
    Come on get your act together and listen to your customers and start acting on delivering.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Disgusting service, the communication when you phone up BT is a joke, the agents are ignorant and the moment you want to complain, you will be cut off deliberately or sent on a run around, the complaints team will not address this part of your complaint, they will just ignore it and not respond to it formally, I have proof and ignorance is not an excuse. BT are scandalous and their complaints team is not impartial, they cover up and will try to spin doctor everything in any verbal communication and will simply not address anything formally in writing that is harmful to BT. The complaint handler will make a conclusion on a situation that occurred which is far from accurate and when you counteract it and expose the ignorance in the conclusion the handler will not respond to it specifically in the next email. Ignorance is not an excuse BT, sorry, do not act like your complaint handlers do not know what they are doing, it is all carefully contrived.

    Takes approx an hour to get the complaints procedure with the name of the ombudsman they are signed up to when on the phone due to spin doctoring and shocking tactics.

    Internet will cut out when it pleases and comes back when it pleases, been offered the same resolution twice that does not work and when offered it the third time you can only refuse.

    Complaining does no help as mentioned, the complaint handler will ignore anything formally written that requires a response that could jeopardize T position in the complaint.

    Stated explicitly not to be contacted verbally after taking legal advice, this was also stated in writing in my formal complaint to BT through the right channels but yes, you guessed it.. 2-3 calls to my mobile and landline, voice messages left on the mobile and landline, even started receiving text messages, almost laughable that they think this type of tactic/harassment is acceptable even after stating in black and white that you require BT to respond formally in writing only and not to call. But they call to figure you out, what you know and what you do not know to exploit to their advantage.

    They claim to have the best wifi signal in the UK, from my experience, no way in hell is it even close.

    As you can see from 90% of the reviews on this website in regards to BT, even the most recent ones... Avoid like the plague!

    Remember, if the broadband company does not provide you with the service contracted for, ask them for the ombudsman they are signed to and follow the correct channels for the formal complaint procedure, know your rights, you can have the contract cancelled without a fee under many circumstances and be entitled to compensation. Just make sure you log every problem you have because the BT team will deny them even though they can check the history on their end.

    I speak from experience with proof, this is not opinion. I have it in black and white.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Since BT bought the previous ISP provider the cost has increased with no improvement in speed, 1.7MB.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    norfolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    just rubbish for too much money
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Garthorpe
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Been with them for three weeks and to say I'm disappointed is a understatement. Its like dial up very poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    AIRDRIE
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor service. Plenty of process and talk but little progress in a rural location.Finally quit BT and moved to 4g. Good riddance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swansea
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Paying for Fibre and we have about 50% service. Less when it is a busy time. BT Customer Service say all the right things but rarely act on what thet say. They always seem reluctant to get Outreqach involved, my guess is that since they are now 2 different companies BT has to pay a charge.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barnsley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I wanted to put minus one for overall satisfaction and customer service ,but it isnt available.
    At present i,m in the middle of a nightmare with BT ,I decided to leave because of the price hikes ,thats when the trauma began , letters , texts, and emails ensued, 5 in a week ,3 calls to disconnections and customer care , getting no further ,cancelled direct debit
    so I can control what they are asking for
    I have tried to cancel sport 6 times over the last few months,
    3in the last 18 days ,no one does it , wrote a letter to managing director customer care ,block capital across the top I AM NOT PAYING £110 fee for early release of contract and CANCEL SPORT.
    This morning letter from the Libby Barr ,manager, thanking me for my order of BT Sport!!!rang again, now. they tell me another account was opened. In my name,I didnt open it , so who did? They dont know , theres only me so ,its not at my end.They say i,ll get a bill in the next 7-10 days saying what I owe them , then I,LL have to ring billing to sort it out -customer care???
    Incompetence ,rudeness ,agression, confusion, and being pressured is what I,ve had from BT ,DONT even think about joining them
    I might of thought about rejoining in the future , but I,d rather be without services now
    BT ARE A JOKE !
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belgravia, London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor!Poor!Poor!. My broadband was supposed to be on on the 19th June. Writing this review on the 19th of July! Still not working, I was told it should work by midnight tonight. Applied on the 6th of June. On my engineers visit of the 18th no one turned up. On the Saturday sent me a new order ref, and put my service back to 19 July. Appartently there was a Glitch on the system and they could not bring my date forward, so had to wait till today. I received a tect at 11 am this morning that my broadband should now be working, Still Not!!

    Do yourself a favour and stay away!! There are more professional companies out there. BT, pls stop scamming people with your adverts to join Up. Cant even help the ones that are already signed up

    All they can say on the 25 calls I made to them is Sorry...Sorry...Sorry...

    Never again in my life!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NORWICH
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    do not trust BT__avoid.
    new customer. a week after bt still did not send the router.
    customer service lying everyday that it will arrive next day..it has not
    customer service rude and defensive
    manager did not wanted to talk to customer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    PAIGNTON
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible custormer service was on hold for 30mins to be diverted and on hold another 10mins, take money they arnt supposed to then try to justify it to you! Con artists and not good people dont give them your money
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give less than one star I would. This is the worst customer service experience I've had with any business. BT make mistakes, don't take ownership of those mistakes and lie to you. I have no other option of provider because BY have a monopoly on fibre broadband in the Catford Green development but their own systems don't recognise that they provide this so they just send you round and round in circles.

    I would not recommend working with BY to anyone!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    York
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute crap service. BT promise much which their arms length engineering service then admits cannot be delivered. Anyway who can trust any salesman who promises infinity? Any school kid would tell him it is unachievale!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Berkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you like a massive language barrier, hearing outright lies from agents, going round in circles, waiting for up to 30 minutes listening to silence while they run "tests", speak to agents who know don't know how to use a BT Home Hub, and getting fobbed off with "please wait 2 days while we monitor your connection" then call BT broadband technical support now! The Openreach guys are great but its so difficult to get an appointment booked with an engineer now (even if you offer to pay for it) that you are forced to endure the worst tech support service on the planet. 11 months and counting until I switch to Zen.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich Suffolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Steer clear of this bunch of thieving cowboys.

    Their customer service is worse than their very poor broadband.

    I will use carrier pigeon before going back to this company
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carrickfergus
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Having been a customer with bt for several years, I've finally lost all patience with their unreliable broadband and poor customer service. I wouldn't normally be leaving such a poor review but the last straw was when they cut my broadband off a day earlier than agreed, and after trying for over an hour to get the issue sorted with their customer service team I gave up. Throughout my broadband contract I noticed a definite drop in speeds at peak times, to the extent that basic online music and videos would be continuously interrupted despite me subscribing to their fastest, unlimited package. Numerous contacts with their customer service was unable to fix this so i gave up.
    When the time came to renew I was unable to avail of the online offers available so my package would cost nearly twice as much as a new customer. What a way to reward loyalty!
    I will not be returning to bt as a customer in the future and would advise others to stay well clear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Camber
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    6 months of low speed broadband and counting
    Moved to Camber from S. E. London, where we had Virgin broadband at 70 mbps. Had to switch to BT at Camber as no alternative. Opted for BT infinity hoping for reasonable speed. Best so far 16mbps and that was by a BT engineer with a hard wired meter Typically 8-12 mbps. So far 5 engineers visits and hours online with no improvement. Yesterday down to 5 mbps again, contacted BT, they tested line and agreed there is a problem. Will send engineer but warned may charge £129 if fault is in house, note they installed line in house and charged for it. Tested it today, 2.5 mbps, received message from BT informing me that they have now found fault on line and will fix it, but not until 19/01/2017. I despair, especially as they have a monopoly, No point in switching as all suppliers have to use the same line.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Constantly having to reconnect to my sky q box rang bt but after setting change ect still rubbish, cant wait for contract to end over rated and expensive, far better providers out there
  • Reviewer
    Location
    fakenham norfolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    total scam for top money. pidgeon would be better
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canterbury
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    THE WORSE INTERNET PROVIDER EVER.. The internet access stops everyday at 1pm and the internet speed is 8mb download and 0,50 MB upload although we bought the 50 MB bundle. We call the customer service every time and they always say different reasons and promise to fix ASAP and nothing happens always. This made me lose lots of work I am doing due to the internet access stopping every time and making me change my plans due to the internet speed, and I can't change this company because they want me to pay lots of money for the exit fees.

    I am going to pay the exit fees and leave this company even if it's £1000, because I am fed up with this WORSE SERVICE AND INTERNET EVER..........

    Count to 1000 before you join BT, and after you count, DO NOT join. Go to vodafone much better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Wales
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TERRIBLE. The worst wifi, the worst service, and the most frustrating thing. I can sit approximately 5 cm away from my 3rd router sent to 'fix the problem' and I can't load a web page. Constant drop outs, no interest in helping, spoke to a UK manager after hours of being on the phone to India multiple times and she was probably the most rude and unhelpful person on the planet. I feel sorry for anyone tied into a contract and have had the displeasure of dealing with BT, they won't help, they will just charge you over £200 to leave the contract and then continue to mis-sell you products at an extortionate price after a few months. STAY AWAY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Gloucestershire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I had found and read this site before placing my order with BT. I currently have no broadband at home because my order is now one week late. Every time BT email me with a new date (in words that suggest they are doing me a big favour!) it is a later date than the unacceptably late one they have already given.

    I cannot comment on the quality of their broadband as I have yet to experience it, although I am now expecting the worst.

    The customer service however cannot be described as terrible or appalling. It cannot be described in that way because it simply does not exist. Totally and utterly pathetic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of Wight
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have given very low stars for speed and reliability. I would have given no stars if there was an option. I joined BT in June 2015. I order VDSL1 and had reliable service with no drops and I had the max speed my line could support. I was over the moon as previous ADSL2 was only supporting 6 meg download. 36 meg ddownload. This lasted only two months and in Aug 2015 the Home Hub 5 kept crashing. It crashed and rebooted every 3 minutes. I called customer service and they reset my line profile. Which means they reduced my noise margins, line attenuation and signal attenuation. This meant I now get speeds of 5 meg. Not only that the Home hub 5 still crashes so nothing has been resolved.
    I am still trying to communicate with BT India, but I seem to know more about the technicalities that they do.
    If I get a resolution i might revise this feedback. Let see what happens.
    The good news is that although im tied into a 12 month contract I have read that we are able to terminate if we are not delivered the speeds promised.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Cant even open a web page even when no one else is using the internet, rarely is useable
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would not recommend someone I hated to BT worst company I have ever come across I had there over seas billing department mock the way I talk when he thought he had me muted I demanded to speak to a manager who apologised on his behalf If it was me mockin him I would of been called racist and been in trouble. I was meant to have full service on 27th June after hours of phone calls a new router a engineer out i received full speed n channels from 1st August n they want to charge me £194 for 6 weeks bill when I only had service for 15 days disgusting service AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute rubbish. Paying £57 a month and my internet doesn't even work. Used my 4G than ever since getting this pathetic internet, constantly going on and off, refreshing it self every 5 minutes and it's suppose to be the fastest and best internet? What ever. Sick of paying extra on my phone bill because the internet doesn't work for most of the time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northamptonshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Totally shocking.
    Indian call centre staff make promises, and don't follow up (calls, replacement routers etc)
    U.K. Call centre no better.
    Problem was only solved by talking to the cancellation dept, explaining all the lies and errors, and being put through to someone who had the ability to make a decision and not read off a script.
    I'm.moving soon, and I won't be using BT for my broadband at the new address.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Warrington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    I am absolutely dissgussed at bt customer service. Without notifying me they raised my bill when I was told when I signed up over the phone I was in a fixed rate for 12 months. I wanted to cancel my package and the Asian man I spoke to put me on hold half way through conversation at 20:50 for over 25 minutes... the reason being... they close at 21:00 and clearly didn't want to take the call! I used to work for bt for over 2 years and I know all the tricks they use! This is an absolute disgrace and the power of social media is a wonderful thing. I will be cancelling with amedeat effect! Bt instead of paying your paying your employees shifty bonuses to answer phones try getting to learn how to do the actual job... I wounder if you are regulated by the FCA?? DON'T CHOOSE BT!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plymouth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute waste of time and money. I have been charged for a service I did not receive and find it impossible to get through to anybody who knows what they are doing. AVOID BT AT ALL COSTS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed to BT in May 2015 and was assured by BT Infinity Hub 5 was the best, total rubbish When on the internet my connection will just cut off for no reason, might only be for a short while but annoying when you trying to find someone. I have a brand new laptop so it cannot be the age of the equipment. I did contact customer services and they said no problem we can sort it out we can alter the speed for you and they then reeled off load of IT speak and said, yes now that is better, and it worked fine for about a week and now it is just as bad as ever. I did ask why wasn't I given the higher speed at the start as I was playing for it, they could not answer that.Have no intentions of ringing again because you have to speak to someone in India who is totally useless and they are allowed to give you the company speak. Sorry I ever decided to go with BT. Why are they allowed to get away with bad service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    devon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    a most disgusting service- in fact the worst I have ever received from any company. It has been so far an 8 month nightmare which is now resulting in me asking for a deadlock letter. I am utterly appalled that any company should be allowed to trade in this way. there is no way I would ever suggest BT broadband to anyone. in fact their broadband in my view should be subject to external government scrutiny
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NI
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Wow I never knew how bad BT were until I tried to contact them. BT are a communications provider.....Right? So why is it impossible to communicate with them? I spent a full day from 9 am to 7.45 pm trying to speak to the options team, who are so named no doubt because it's their option whether they feel like picking up the phone!! I called wanting to discuss my increasing bill and to see if they could match a deal from Talk Talk and eventually someone picked up the phone. I explained that I was being offered the same broadband speed, unlimited, including anytime calls and TV for less than I was being charged by BT for broadband and evening and weekend calls. The response was that Talk Talk are terrible with nonsense reasons why I shouldn't go to them like they would cut me off if I used over £20 of calls! Really my phone provider would cut me off for using the phone? They said I could have a £5 reduction in my bill but they would take away my evening calls!!! Excuse me? Horrendous and they don't care about customers. They have lost this one permanently. Don't touch with a barge pole.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    never purchase bt because you never get the speeds you pay for. I pay for 70 down which is the best package. If im lucky I will only get 5 down which is shocking
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wright
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This service is an absolute disgrace. Customer services / technical faults mislead and lie to you. The broadband speed is no way near what was promised and constantly cuts out. Complete and utter waste of money. And they will not even release me from the contract despite not providing what I asked for!

    The technical faults team have been talking to me for three months since I had the problem. Initially I was informed they merely had to ensure it wasn't a wireless problem and they would reset then boost the line. Well, I ran all the speed tests and used an Ethernet cable for my broad band direct from the socket with a new filter as requested. Still rubbish. They therefore reset the line. Then it still didn't work. I raised it with them on the phone and they advised I wait 20 days. Still nothing. Then a call, they blamed it on a wireless problem inspite of the tests showing that that it wasn't - they wen reset the line. They then stated they couldn't guarantee wireless speed. I raised it with other representatives via twitter and got the same answer in a long and pointless email.

    The broadband never goes above 3.5 Mbps and is often much less. The line constantly drops out. Watching films and multimedia without interruption is a pipe dream. I was promised about 10mbps. Yesterday my partner was told that nothing was guaranteed and that I had no right to cancel. She was told to consult the small print. The sooner the OFCOM changes come into place allowing me to quit the better. I cannot dissuade you strongly enough. BT is not the firm it was and they do not care about the customer or quality of the product. They just want to squeeze a margin out of you. Go with Virgin... I never had a problem with them and the line was awesome!

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.