Hyperoptic Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Hyperoptic.

Recent Customer Ratings for Hyperoptic

  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.4 stars
  • Reliability
    2.2 stars

Based on 100 customer ratings since 2022-11-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Hyperoptic   Read our Hyperoptic buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

322 Customer Reviews over 9 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    Awful awful awful!!! Have opened an account 10 days ago and still no internet or phone service. Do not use them unless you are prepared to wait a very long time to get up and running. Apparently there is a problem with the net work - hard to believe that is true as previous tenant had the service a day before I took over the flat. The customer service promises lots and guarantees service will be provided but after ten days I still don't have it!
    I eve
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    ***Day 7 without a working internet connection***

    Following on from my initial review (posted on 29/08), Hyperoptic are still yet to prioritise getting my internet service back online. I am extremely disappointed with this level of service from Hyperoptic! Over a WEEK without working internet - PATHETIC!

    As such, I will continue to post a negative review for every day Hyperoptic fail to restore my service - so that the community are aware of Hyperoptic’s lack of customer care and abysmal technical support.

    For context (and warning to those considering Hyperoptic):
    - I signed up to Hyperoptic on the 14/08
    - The internet connection randomly stopped working on 24/08 - in the middle of the work day
    - Hyperoptic advised an engineer is not able to come out to fix the issue until the 08/09 - a full 16 calendar days later
    - Multiple calls, emails and complaints have been raised to Hyperoptic - to which I am receiving no urgency to get my service back online

    I have been offered compensation for the days I am without service (FYI: This is a bare minimum regulatory requirement, nothing special!). However, what I have not received is any urgency, or meaningful correspondence, whatsoever from Hyperoptic Support or their Customer Relations Department to restore my internet service.

    Additionally, I am still forced to wait until the 08/09 to get my internet service restored - which is unacceptable! I have to continue to spend additional time, money and effort to organise alternative access to the internet while I wait for Hyperoptic to respond.

    Based on my experience, I would strongly advise against anyone giving Hyperoptic their business.

    Complaint ticket number: 3105783
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would like to give an overall rating of 0.25 for the pathetic service hyperoptic provides. I took the subscription on 15th of May 2022 and it took them 3 days to activate the service ( my flt already had an existing connection+router) and they did a scheduled maintanence one day from 9AM to 1Pm and somehow their engineer had did a blunder that they couldnt reboot my network that entire day. And their technical team keeps my call on hold for around 50 mins to attend the call. ********* experience i had with this provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish service. I moved into a flat that already had the router and presumably it was a quick get started pack. None of this happened. Router not connecting, several phone calls to check what I had already checked. When I had an engineer coming he only phoned once- I had popped out of the flat and only missed him. When I called him back he was rude and dismissive. Unacceptable. Contract cancelled. Worst service to date having tried different providers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Terrible, predatory and outdated company policy of forcing new customers to pay an extortionate cancellation fee if you are forced to move house.

    £100 cancellation fee if you move and Hyperoptic do not support the location where you are moving to.

    An absolute disgrace. Look elsewhere (BT don't do this, for example).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Rubbish service. I moved into a flat that already had the router and presumably it was a quick get started pack. None of this happened. Router not connecting, several phone calls to check what I had already checked. When I had an engineer coming he only phoned once- I had popped out of the flat and only missed him. When I called him back he was rude and dismissive. Unacceptable. Contract cancelled. Worst service to date having tried different providers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    Bunch of cowboys avoid. Installer was clueless, he didn't know which lines he was connecting. Unit was connected to the wrong power supply in the building, so the cabinet is constantly beeping. Good luck contacting customer services to resolve any complaint.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    IPTV not working since 2 weeks with fibre connection
    Since last week faster broadband hyperoptic fibre I've not been able to watch anything over IPTV.

    The channels are connecting all the time internet light on



    IPTV used to work fine when I was on normal broadband and the old router, but since last2 weeks nightmare after another!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Acton, London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Without doubt the worst company I have ever had to deal with (I'm 68 BTW). No warning on works when the internet drops so no internet, no phone, and no mobile (my signal comes through the router). Repetitive replies to emails. Been with them for 4 years and wish I had never bothered. Have just renewed contract, against my better judgement. They have taken off my free UK calls but are still charging me the same price per month. I am now on my 4th email to them but to no avail. As somebody else here mentioned, all the customer services staff I have dealt with have Eastern European names. Any company that hires almost exclusively eastern Europeans are obviously trying to do everything on the cheap.
    When I first started with Hyperoptic I had to send and receive over 40 emails just to get it up and running with a working phone. They even messed up my desire to keep my old BT number.
    Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Barking
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I on the internet plan provided by the property owner which is a guaranteed 5Mbps line. I have been experiencing poor internet speed during night and weekends. I tried explaining Customer care for the past 5 days almost calling them everyday and no action has been taken on my problem yet. First day one customer care person said there is an IP allocation issue with my connection, second day they said they wanted to investigate further and after that every time I call them they have been saying Network team has confirmed there is no issues with my connection. They have been saying me to upgrade and get better service, not sure what difference that is going to make. In my view, it says you pay more for better service.

    My internet completely drops where I am not even able to load google.com on wired laptop after 9PM everyday and on Sundays. I have been mailing Hyperoptic on this issue for close to one month now and no action has been taken. Every time I mailed them a new ticket has been assigned but no action has been taken so far and I am seriously annoyed & disappointed with the service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hyperoptic has completely spoiled my day. They are supposed to install today for the booking i made 2 weeks ago.. but last minute engineer called and said even though he install, there wont be service up and running till end of September..

    Highly unreliable service.. if you know that you cant provide a service what is the point in giving fake assurances. I need to spend extra money to get some dongle and use to manage my work.

    Completely spoiled my day and ruined with your unreliable service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bexley
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved in to a new flat, looking for internet providers we were interested in Hyperoptic. A salesman quickly informed us that a new installation to the building would arrive shortly, and soon after the internet would be ready to go. Great we thought.

    1 month passes with promises of "next week" being the installation date. Never happened. Finally we find out that the building is connected. Hooray! All we need is a tech to connect it all up for us. Perfect. Date of installation? 20 plus days after the building itself is connected. We tried getting it expedited, calling multiple times and finally we were able to arrange for the tech to come sooner.

    They were scheduled for a Monday. Over the weekend we received 2 optimistic texts saying that technician is coming. Wonderful we thought. Now its Monday. And what happened? "We are so sorry, your technician was cancelled.". We were notified of this AFTER the technician was supposed to come and only because we called. I bet if we hadn't we wouldn't have even been notified.

    How is it that an ISP in the UK is worse than the ISP from the Second World country I come from? How is this at all acceptable? How can you keep promising and promising and deliver exactly 0? Nothing. Nada.

    My review? Stay away. Stay far away from Hyperoptic. Almost 2 months promising internet. And it's not like we live in the middle of nowhere. We are 40 minutes away from central for gods sake.

    If you dont have the people to do the work, why even offer a service.

    0/10, give the company over to someone who can atleast get the internet installed when they say they would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    birmingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed up for internet service with your organization on the 9th of August. I signed up for the 1Gb Fibre Connection - Broadband Only plan but my connectivity was poor and I was only getting less than 200mbps( not even 200). I spoke to different agents and we ran different testing together. I was asked to do a troubleshooting connecting the LAN cable to a device but I don't have a device that supports LAN, I've asked friends, and neither of them have it too. We either have a Macbook or the latest Windows. I was told there's nothing that can be done since I can not do that troubleshooting so no one will help me get the internet service I signed up to. I've requested for my contract to be cancelled now.

    The service was absolutely disgraceful. We're in 2023 how do they expect people to have devices that connect to the internet with a wire? Are they expecting people to buy a new device for a test? Why can't their technical team have another way to fix the issue rather than losing a customer because of it? or have an engineer come out - run whatever testing and done.

    Just a terrible time, I've never complained like this before but they stressed me out with all testing only telling me I should deal with what I have because I don't have an outdated 2003 box device for TESTING!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Speeds tank every other day. Regularly get <10mbs despite paying for 1gbs. Awful. Will be switching at end of trial period.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Been very lucky to have access to the hyperoptic network. As a customer for 2 years I've never had any issue, speeds and reliability are fantastic, value for money is excellent and their customer service on of the least "non-robotic" nowadays. 5 stars all the way. I hope they continue like this
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    From order to picking install date, completely hassles free, I kept my old provider active (Sky) until it was all installed just in case .. was not needed as was all installed and active so easy ... so far service is fast ! i had 150mbs installed. biggest problem was the 56min wait on call to sky to cancel my old sky broadband
  • Reviewer
    Location
    BOURNEMOUTH
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Placed an order a month ago and heard nothing. So have now called them three times (really fed up with their system) and the only answer I get is they have "no capacity" whatever that means. Useless!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brentford
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hyperoptic are an enigma of a company, when it works, it's very good. When it doesn't it's terrible.

    Let me start with the installation. When the engineer arrived he told me he would only be able to install my socket within 10M of my front door. This is an issue for me, as the front door is nowhere near the living room where most of my connected devices are. That being said the speed of installation was quick and the guy was efficient and knowledgeable.

    When working, the internet is ok but there are some issues. For example the wireless speeds. I have never had above 32Mbps even an optimal distance form the router. I expect some degradation of performance over wifi but 68 Mbps? or, to put it another way: less then 2 thirds of the speed I am paying for! Due to my installation issues I get about 0.5 Mbps in my living room.
    Even connected wired straight out the back of the router I only get 82Mbps. This is much less than acceptable. It's basically an outright lie to say I'm receiving the 100Mbps service I am paying for. I'm not sure how they get away with this? Maybe no one has reported them to trading standards yet? I assume someone techy would give some excuses using words like "latency" and "load form other users" or some such. However when I was with BT (which is sadly unavailable in my new building) I was paying for an 80Mbps service. They were quite honest in saying I would never get that, but they did say they would monitor the line and make sure it never dropped below 70 and, hardwired, it never did once).

    The other issue is reliability. My connection drops constantly. This makes it impossible to watch anything over a streaming service or listen to a streaming music system.

    Customer service TRIED to help. IN that the very quickly investigated the issues I was having and they sent me a new router. However the router being the same poor quality as the old one I have exactly the same issues.

    I would recommend you stear clear of these guys. The bad outweighs the good
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer service. I applied for internet with them 2 weeks ago and I'm still waiting to receive the router. I email them frequently to ask for updates and get no response. I have called twice and both times they have told me the router will be with me in 1 to 2 days. And yet I am still waiting and no one seems to be able to help me. I work from home and have not been able to work during this time, resulting in a significant loss of income. My reason for choosing hyperoptic in the first place is that my flat is already set up for them. I think I will now give up and change to BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton Marina
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Connected at time and date as booked. Neatly done.Worked first time. Wi-fi runs at 76mg consistently

    Had a small issue with first invoice. One phone call -sorted. BT watch and learn.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Internet is good when it's available but constantly drops out and videos are left buffering, even with such a fast connection.

    Having to switch provider and getting a massive bill to cancel because they're not available. There's very little options and customer service isn't fantastic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My broadband with Hyperopic was activated in the mid of December, after just a week use, the internet is down. I called the customer service and they told me they will send me a new router and it will arrived in one or two business days.
    Since it's already near Christmas, I asked them whether they could call the courier to check whether the courier company still work during Christmas, then they told me it's a unreasonable request and I was crazy to ask them to do that. I was surprised and utterly disgusted. I couldn't see why it is a unreasonable request and why I was called a crazy person. I told them that I simply wanted to get more information in regarding to the delivery. They told me repeatedly that it is an unreasonable request and under no rule or regulation they should do that. Then I asked them whether they could keep me updated on the delivery, they told me I should check my email about that. I told them I didn't have any internet connection so I would prefer a phone call or a message. They told me I could just call them back to check it. I insist that they should at least provide some updates as it's not easy to call them as there is always a long wait. Finally they decide to ring me back the next day to provide update.
    However, it's been four days, I haven't heard any news from them and I still didn't receive my router.
    I can see many people have some bad experience with this company according to their feedback. However, I can never imagine that the customer service in a well-established company can say such vicious things to a customer via the phone and make empty promise without any consequences. If any company should go bankruptcy during the pandemic, this company should definitely be on the top of the list since no customers should go through such experience and no one should use this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I could give this disgraceful company lower than 1 star. Their customer service is the worst I have ever experienced. Their staff are rude and just talk over you, whoever trained them needs to be fired! They are also very incompetent, I called their "customer support" line and was told something different every time I called. Each "advisor" providing contrasting information, one of them even suggested I google the problem myself!! They sent out an engineer to my flat who didnt even work for them and turned up without the correct tools for the job! They didnt even apologise for wasting my time. They price is a rip off. PLEASE PLEASE AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol - Airpint
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Really bad experience. Line drops constantly, forget downloading big files. Infantile customer service. I expalined that 10 other people in Airpoint building in bristol where on facebook group complaining about the same issues when all they could think of to say was to turn my computer on and off again. Complete cretins. Do not use.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol Center
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    My building recently went ahead with Hyperoptic, and I decided to take the offer they had and changed from Sky to them. The installation went smoothly and quick. The internet speed is amazing, I check internet speed now and then - and on my 150Mbps package - I get around 125Mbps speed, which is a huge improvement on my previous 9Mbps with Sky. I am very happy so far and have no complaints.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brodie
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is absolutely appalling I moved into an apartment where hyperoptic was already provided so I rang to see if it was more beneficial to go with them than wait three weeks for wifi to be fitted.. I was informed when I took out this contract that they only provided a year long contract when I needed 9 months I was explained that the cancellation fee would only be £25 but was offered a good deal so I decided to go ahead and pay a cancellation fee when I left! I rang today to cancel my contract where I told the cancellation fee was now £50! When my contract only had £66 left to pay. I explained I was told £25 previously so they listened to my first recording and found that it was £25 however they insisted I had to pay £50 or move the contract which I am unable to do. The worst customer service I have ever received asked to speak to the manager and was informed that wouldn't be possible. Would never use hyperoptic again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bromley
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Awful and useless customer service. Their speed and reliability is quite good though. But if you need to get in touch with their customer service department, they are pretty much unhelpful and useless.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brum
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    If you have problems with the connection getting slow after a while, it's probably the router. These things have to do an incredible amount of work (thing of massive Cisco routers in big organizations) and this one is just not up to the task. Not just this one: most of the consumer routers that are around today are rubbish (Netgear being the worst, Asus the best).
    So, if it happens to you, try the usual M$ remedy: stop and restart. Don't do it by pulling the plug, though. Connect to your router via its web interface (http: //192.168.1.1), login as Administrator with username=admin and the password you find on the bottom of the box the router came in. Click on "Login", select TOOLS from the top menu, click on "Restart system" on the left and, finally, click on the "Restart system button". Give it 2/3 minutes to restart.
    Apart from this, Hyperoptic is top-notch.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Canary wharf
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I’ve been a hyper optic customer for over 10 years. I have been generally disappointed with the speed of my 150 gb.
    It is not uncommon to have streaming movies start to que.
    especially around 11pm to 1:00 am the speed is horrible.
    I don’t get it. It is fiber optics. I’m grateful that we are finally moving and I can pay their cancellation fees after being a customer for 10 years. That’s hyper. I wish I never met you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardifd
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've been with Hyperoptic for years and have recommended them to many people which is why I now feel a sense of guilt.

    There have been a few occasions where the service has gone down unexpectedly and that's totally fine, no service always works perfectly and whenever I've called the people have been polite and helpful, and the issue was resolved quickly. On the last occasion however ther service went down due to a battery failing (the backup didn't kick in/hasn't been replaced) which led to over half a day without service when it is something that could easily have been prevented, and most recently, on Christmas day itself the service went down. It was the first time in 2 years my family have been together due to the pandemic, and I'd been planning to host virtual parties and movie sessions and games with extended family who couldn't be here due to the rules. When the connection went down I immediately called customer service and don't think I've ever spoken to a more apathetic person. They couldn't have cared less, explained they had no information, advised I'd get an update via text (9 hours later, still no update), advised there was no ETA and I'd just have to wait. All my of Christmas plans came to a halt, I've had no update from Hyperoptic, I can see from twitter someone else's account has gone down hundreds of miles away, and I'm currently calling (40 mins on hold) to try and find out what's going on.

    Hyperoptic used to be the #1 service I'd recommend, but in increasingly uncertain times (working from home, relying on an internet connection to host parties or catch ups) you need reliability more than just speed and I don't think Hyperoptic focus too much on the latter.

    Unfortunately I'd recommend people look elsewhere; Hyperoptic are just getting worse. I still don't know why the service went down, and is **still** down, but it ruined my Christmas plans which had been two years in the making and the customer service couldn't care less. Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just had to cancel my contract on the day of the installation because the engineer didn't turn up.


    Received a text message every hour with a new update - 12-2 turned into 2-4, 2-4 turned into 4-5.

    At 5pm I rang the help desk as the text messages has stopped and was told my installation had been cancelled and that they'd ring me back to confirm why. Half hour later I was told that there were issues gaining access and they can't install internet in my complex until they have the required access.

    These things happen but...

    - why send me texts every hour telling me that my installation is still happening?
    - why do i need to chase YOU to get an update?
    - why even take a booking in a location that you can't install in?

    I ended up cancelling on the phone because if this is a sign of their customer service I've definitely dodged a bullet.

    Thank you for wasting my entire Monday Hyperoptic.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Unfortunately my first week with Hyperoptic was plagued with problems - the phone line didn't work and could only be reset on their end, then the fibre optic line was damaged near Cardiff leading to an entire day without internet, then the service stopped suddenly tonight a whole day after their planned engineering works (with no mention of this extra work!)
    I was with Sky before and even if I didn't have fibre optic, I only had 2 minor issues in 5 years with them.
    Maybe it was just an unluckily bad week but I can't risk this happening again and have cancelled within 30 days. The tech team are friendly though.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The first installation failed due to outside cables, therefore I was concerned that another attempt would be perhaps months away seeing the reviews. One week later as agreed installation was completed. Most customer service was over emails just in case I needed proof. They were so quick in replies.
    All working at the speed I requested so I certainly would recommend this company.
    Can’t comment on reliability as it was only installed today.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cardiff Bay
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    The first engineer decided to take the most visible route for the cable and drilled a hole 1/3 of the way down a wall to take it into the cupboard - despite having a skirting board available to follow. He also left a mess and didn't even say he had finished. Hyperoptic said they would send a different fitter who didn't turn up and no contact from hyperoptic. Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central London
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service. Cancelled installation at last minute. Make empty promises. Full of people who do not care if what they say is true or not. Please be ethical and truthful when you provide a paid for service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    Absolutely diabolical. Signed up 3 weeks ago and still have no connection. They refuse to send an engineer out. Despite me signing up for the top package. Avoid this company at all costs!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chigwell
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Possibly the worst UK service provider.

    I had two experiences in the last two years. Both ended up with me cancelling my order as they left me in the dark not knowing what was happening. Possibly the worst managed service desk.

    Their UK team lives on another planet.

    Whilst the team in Serbia are friendly and try to be helpful, the team in UK don’t give a glance to issues that are escalated to them. They are either not available, don’t have a clue, or simply don’t care. A request for a connection has not been responded to since 27th February 2024. Why advertise a service, why send a marketing representative to all the houses in a neighbourhood, why post flyers in all the houses if you can’t provide the service advertised?

    2 complaints have been ignored. Days spent waiting for an engineer visit are treated as “your loss” even an email threatening to take the complaint to communication ombudsman and Ofcom have failed to evoke a response or acknowledgement. If you don’t have a pre installed connection at your place avoid them like a plague. I ended up cancelling my order I will never again place an order or recommend HyperOptic to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    colidal
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Best broadband you can get bet sky/bt any time speed is really good
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coventry
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I made the mistake of simply cancelling the direct debit because it was unclear how to cancel my service with them. They didn't email me to say until the account had racked up two months of unpaid bills. The cancellation process took multiple days of email transactions all whilst I'm paying a pro rata fee for the extra Internet and I had to pay these bills and a £10 reactivation fee just so that I could wait another month to cancel my account (and pay for this month of unused Internet).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Croydon
    Reviewing
    Hyperoptic
    Date
    Comments
    Hyper optic is the worst broadband provider , i've been with in the last 15 years. Their billing and payment resolution in next to nothing , compared to other providers. You cannot transfer their services elsewhere and if you talk to them about it they were rude and threaten you with debt collection.

    * If you are a tenant and not a homeowner be wary as you will be stung by a bill when you move out of your property *

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.