John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Recent Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    2.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.7 stars
  • Speed
    2.2 stars
  • Reliability
    2.3 stars

Based on 100 customer ratings since 2021-08-06 (Show all time ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

794 Customer Reviews over 20 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Stay away from JLB. I have been struggling with their service since i joined in March 2018. Inconsistent speed issue has been there since then and no one bother to resolve the issue. I raised so many queries but no concrete results.
    There is so much of disconnect within the JLB team that one does not know what was done by another. Also, their portal has not been working since more than a month and I am not able to make the payment as i am not able to login the my account. Call wait time is > 30 mins which is pathetic. No call back system, no online chat system. Absolutely pathetic infrastructure and worse customer service I have ever had in my entire life.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ottery st Mary
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    John Lewis says it cannot take payment from my direct debit from which they have been taking payment for ages! My bank confirms that the direct debit is active and that there are no problems on my account. John Lewis say “ pay within 14 days or else!” They will not accept an email from me and whe I finally got through on the phone after 15 minutes of music the said they would take paynent over the phone. But when they tried they said that they can’t because nothing is owing! Offered to transfer me to accounts, but there was a 25 minutes waiting time! Service? Here is an IT service that can’t even sort themselves out. They know that I will have to put up with it because I don’ want to change my email address.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    They have introduced a new payment system which is a disaster. They have no idea what they are doing. You wait 44 minutes for someone to answer the phone. The online 'my account' is 'unavailable'. Their direct debit reversed itself out of my account as they applied for it a day before they said they would. My bank said they had no control over it. Since then it has been a catalogue of errors, apologetic emails, then today threatening emails. I have complained to the Chairman of John Lewis about the poor service and the awful reputation they are giving the Partnership. When I first joined them 4+ years ago for my phone in London, they were great. Now, they are absolutely not. If I want appalling customer services then go to the cheap providers, or BT. You do not expect it from John Lewis. I am going to Zen who provide an excellent service for me at the house in Norfolk.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Started account early May 2018 because liked price but now NOT satisfied with service, Direct debit notice Not given (DD Guarantee states 10 days notice to be given when price difference (as prices of differ each month 10 days notice must be given each month, and NOT allowed to collect before set due date 5 months 5 different pay dates, and always taken before due date),speed (download 17 Mbps upload 1.2 Mbps)Customer service, unaware of product, DD rules, and the ability to communicate, overall cheap get what you pay for, no get less for what is paid for, My advice leave alone if you have not got the time to give them hassle, or of a nervous disposition, my score is 0, 0, 0, 0.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hereford
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Like another reviewer I have closed my account and JLB does not recognise this although I have their letter telling me how sorry they are I have left. I stopped my DD as after many phone calls as I could not trust them and sure enough today I had an email from them demanding payment by another means. In fact they owe me a refund but "due to a new accounting system" this will have to be by cheque. I cannot go on-line to discuss this as my account is closed and the phone line has a wait of over 10 minutes. I'm not surprised!
    I would just ignore them if they did not owe me money and I could be sure they would not file a payment failure on my credit file.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bala
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    broadband it low and often drops, for a rural area like this, it is passable,
    customer service on the other hand is just not up to the job, JL snt me an email telling me there were problems with their system and they could not collect my direct debit on time, and they would inform me when they would collect it, they sent me an email saying it will be collected on or after the 13th, so they decided to collect it on the 12th, funds were placed in my bank on the 12th to cover the direct debit on the 13th, needless to say my once perfect record with my bank has now gone, I will be charged for their incompetence, and all they do is ignore my emails, on top of this they are saying now because I have not paid my account will be restricted, and would you believe their online payment through your account has been down for days, so even though I am trying to pay, I can't, needless to say I will be taking my custom elsewhere,
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Quick review. Generally these who are happy with a service don't come to a website like this, but only those who are unhappy. We've been with JLB for about 6 months now, after many expensive years with BT. Should have done it years ago! A very positive exoerience. Thanks.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    Cannot get on to server to clear, therefore email not working. AGAIN!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ilkley
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Worst Company ever. Stay away.
    They forgot to close my account, over charged me and now cant refund my account (they say).
    They want to send me a check when i an no longer residing in the UK!!!

    Worst ever. No consideration...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ashbourne
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Having read all the negative reviews of John Lewis Broadband I followed MSE's rating of the service and switched from BT over a month ago. In contrast to all the negative reports published I can confirm that my experience of the switch and the resultant telephone and broadband service has been exemplary. The switch was completed on schedule and the resultant response is as good as (indeed, I am tempted to say better than) that provided by BT. It seems that, in general, consumers only vent their frustrations in public reviews when they have negative experiences. I feel that such views should be tempered by what must be the more prevalent, positive experiences. Thank you to John Lewis for a good service at a good price!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    west midlands
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought i would try give John lewis, as my last Provider, Talk Talk were extremely incompetent from start to finish.I place my order with JL just over week ago in 29/9/2018 and was given three option of when every thing would be set up after Paying Nearly £90.

    However this didn't get to plan, after waiting half hour on Saturday to get through i was sent a email basically stating wait till Monday.

    So I phone Monday even though the first person i spoke to seemed inexperienced but polite he had told me it would take a further two weeks for every to be set-up meaning this would of been a month!. i then decided to cancel

    I then had heated argument with one of their cancellation team member as he was telling ( couldn't get a word in edge ways) me this would be the same for any other provider to take this long ??.

    in the end spoke to some more polite and i have now gone with another provider and i will be set up by the end of the week!

    stay Clear if there is issues in the beginning i guarantee you it will only get worse!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Well it would be minus all round. Trouble from 1st day. Tried to change our home phone no, after several calls to them we were told "sorry you should have been asked if you wanted to keep number too late now it's been allocated to someone else by BT . Weeks to sort this out, as a business we had to keep our number.
    Next problem trouble with router hours on phone even being told to unscrew main BT socket. Apparently our phone line at fault -no it wasn't and so it went on. Even had a BT engineer turn up who said they have had numerous calls re this broadband service and on his log it even had a note that the manager had visited us. Not true.
    Had our user name wrongly spelt again several calls to correct this.
    Today unable to log in to try and get printed bills for accountant and as usual can't get through on phone.
    Don't use this service & please read all reviews
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London Chiswick / Acton / Hammersmith
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Driven by flood of negative reviews seen here, and my (short so far) experience with JLB, I decided to write my own review as our experience with them so far is very positive.

    Context: We just migrated off BT 80MB (then, now it's 66MB only, I think?) Fibre and telephone service.I had been with BT for 7 years, moved house three times [South East & London] taking them with me every time and had no issues with them at all except once, when they were not able to move me as they had internal issues with their CMR and they just let me go then allowing for new (nice) deal to be put in place. Broadband and telephone service was operational at all times and I never had to contact them about any technical issues either. So my worry when we decided to move was that we will effectively break something that works splendidly well (although for a price): We decided to move based only on the extortionate price we had to pay - with JLB our monthly price is effectively less than half now.

    I ordered JLB Broadband & telephone service on 22/09 online - got migration date as 05/09 couple of hours later(contractual two weeks). Zyxel router turned up couple of days later and replaced BT Hub on the day of migration. Phone line has migrated early in the morning, with broadband following few hours later. As I was at work then, I just checked with JLB that all is good and witnessed the same once we got back home in the evening. Router was operational, and it was just WiFi / Ethernet configuration that I had to do. And that was it.
    Needless to say that all these steps were followed up by text messages & e-mails.

    So it's 72 hours for us just now: telephone service works as it did, broadband speed is exactly the same as it's been before. The only extra thing I did myself was to voluntarily upgrade the firmware in the provided router - and fiddle with its settings.

    So, I am really not sure where all the negative comments are coming from. I also cannot say anything wrong about their staff either.

    I can only guess that some negative experiences may be related to exceptional circumstances: dodgy wiring etc. but perhaps also the fact that it's far easier to write negative rather than positive review.

    Last but not least: I shall update this review if circumstances change - especially after first 12 months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    goole
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Dreadful. I was with them for 1 year without trouble. Went away for 6 months visiting a sick relative abroad. Direct debits taken monthly.
    Returned home to everything dead.
    Connected but no broadband as I was connected to Sky at the exchange (mis-jumpered).
    The Openreach guy ripped the master socket off my interior wall, damaging the cables. 2 more visits to get it fixed. BT Openreach very sorry.
    JL then try to charge me £50 for the visits. Hours phoning them, always promising a manager would ring back. Never happened.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stockport
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What a waste of time this is, terrible connection that drops as and when it wishes, unstable internet when its 'working' no facility for changing direct debit date, tell you to pay manually by card but then completely cut access to your online account as soon as the day arrives! absolutely shocking service... AVOID!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The actual broadband service is not too bad for the money. I just find them a pain to deal with through customer services. I simply want a vat invoice or vat number but they keep fobbing me off saying I don't need one as i'm a private customer. I'm self employed and pay VAT? This is simply BS. Anyone can ask for a VAT invoice at any retailers in the country. I just wonder if there's a VAT fiddle going on here? .. and we can trust corporates to pay all their taxes cant we?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LIPHOOK
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After having no problems for 8 years, we decided to switch to JL,and we received a welcome pack & new router.10 days ago we were informed by text we had been switched, both phone line and broadband,but not switched but obviously disconnected....!! Phone went off and broadband off.
    No phone line and still no broadband,all over the BH weekend too.
    They are really poor at customer care and attempts to resolve this is falling on deaf ears.
    Multiple calls and emails from us, at great inconvenience and still nothing!
    They blame Open reach who have already come out and tested everything, and cannot find a fault but accept there is no signal into the house. They went up the pole and checked, and the engineer said they have switched over , but .....to someone else.!!!!!!!
    So we currently still have no phone or broadband, no online banking, online utilities etc etc. No contact with family or access to facetime, without standing in a supermarket doorway using their wi fi !!!!
    Its a third world service and completely unacceptable. There is no continuity of personnel, no updates,just nothing!!!!!!!!!
    Don't use this company JL I will not be shopping there anytime soon.
    Just disgraceful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    exeter
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been very patient with the service dropping out regularly as I seemed lucky when calling the helpline. The last time I contacted JL the young lad who talked at me was vile. I was so upset that I am stopping shopping at JL and Waitrose. Have moved providers to a small company based in Devon who are professional and only very slightly more expensive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    I ordered JL fibre broadband on 10 August and was told that my broadband would transfer from BT to JL on 24 August. 21 August arrived with no router and no notification that the router had been sent. I phoned JL customer service to be told that the automatic router ordering process had failed. Apparently this was a known problem and JL were working on it (in which case why did JL not put a manual fail-safe in place until the automatic process was fixed?) I was told that the router would be sent out immediately but that it would take up to 5 working days to arrive. That would have been four days after the transfer date and it would have meant a Bank Holiday weekend with no broadband. If a company screwed up this badly before the service even started, it didn't bode well for the future, so I cancelled the order. Customer service were efficient enough when I contracted them; but they seemed totally disinterested in the fact that their (or more likely Plusnet's) systems were so unreliable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Albans
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I went with J Lewis as their customer service is normally excellent and they're a great British brand, oh how wrong I was! Speeds were slow then Router stopped working within weeks but they sent a new router quickly so I thought that was it, all would be great from then on. How wrong was I.
    Repeated emails and calls to JL have not helped me with the terrible or non existent internet connections. Constant drop out, speeds of 1.3, pings of 1200 plus. Buffering and unable to watch a film all the way through-ruddy useless service.
    Polite customer service but absolutely useless to me when they can't sort the problem. I have emailed a few times, spoken to various people who all tell me to " plug into the test socket with a wired connection then see what the speeds are". Or, they'll do something on the line to increase speed-it doesn't. One said, "where is the router" I replied " in the kitchen", Ahh i'ts near the microwave that's the problem!! Oh give me strength!! Paying £20 pm for absolute rubbish. Didn't go with them for the low cost but for the JL customer service.

    I'm going to complain to the chairman and tell him to look at these reviews
    Avoid.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Home broadband
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    How can anything be linked to John. Lewis that is so poor at basic customer service !
    Told my speed between 6-17 mbs was only 10.7mbs which in their eyes is more than acceptable - funny they won’t reflect this range in their prices
    They refuse to fix speed problems, I was advised by tech support that as my telephone point switch was an issue to remove the front cover and has been like this ever since
    Told by tech support that a new router may not fix issue but have to sign a new contract to even try
    Can anyone recommend anyone better than these cowboys?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lincoln
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Switched from BT and I really wish I hadn’t. Having had 31MBPS consistently from BT I now get 6-9 MBPS from John Lewis. Two phone calls to John Lewis technical support got me nowhere - then get passed around the order department, back to tech support and back to orders. They can see there is a fault on the broadband, which they tried to blame on my equipment. Then they claim they can’t find my landline. And still I get slow broadband. Appalling service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    norfolk
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not at all the service expected from the reputation of John Lewis. I have cancelled set up of contract as they were unable to provide a service, unable to respond to communication within 24hours as stated and responses when finally received were inadequate. John Lewis currently promoting deals they can not cope with. Avoid!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible service throughout contract.

    Was promised broadband long long before it materialised.

    Given shoddy router that struggled to stay connected, the password would scramble. Called up numerous times during first 12 months when only fixes were offered that only half did the job.

    As soon as 12 months were up they said 'oh that's a router problem but you'll have to pay for a new one as it's now out of warranty.' Nobody had suggested the router had an irreparable fault when it would have cost them money, grubby.

    Staff were often rude and unapologetic throughout the whole thing.

    Cancelled the contract in June in a call where I was given contradictory information by different agents about what I'd be charged for end of contract.

    Got charged for July despite cancellation, complained and was indignantly asked 'are you sure you cancelled?'. They then went and listened to the cancellation call and I was promised refund (but no apology which is typical of JL Broadband) no refund has come and then I was charged for August.

    Never ever touch John Lewis Broadband. Not worth the hassle to save £1-£5 on an even half decent service. Unless you're specifically looking for unapologetically useless broadband - then go ahead
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you thought the Broadband service was bad, just wait until you try to leave. Despite being out of contract I have been incorrectly billed on THREE occasions, and my complaints have been escalated to at least three departments. The phrase "How many staff does it take to change a light bulb" certainly applies here. Regret not able to leave less than 1 star. Customer service is abysmal Avoid at all costs
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Right, as promised. Further to my review from the 14th August 2018.....I have now had another few disconnections... my thoughts-

    - Some (not all) of the disconnections appear to be due to the DLM system LOWERING the SNR value from default 6db to 3db (the lowest setting) This lowest setting 3db allows (usually) for MORE speed if your line is stable. Mine has now settled at this 3db value and am now sync'd at over 60 mbps.

    - The supplied modem/router: zyxel 8924 b10a was on firmware V10 (from 2015 I believe?) John lewis never updated it even after I asked them to, so I carried out the upgrade to V21 then V23 or V24 myself. So far so good, touch wood.

    - I incorrectly stated I would use my old BT smart hub 6. This didnt work as the username didnot accept the @john-lewis.com. I think the '-' (hyphen) causes a problem.

    - I sucessfully connected with the BT BUSINESS smart hub 6 (product code 088315). Our username @john-lewis.com WAS accepted.

    So, after the initial teething problems, it appears to be ok now. Their email support tickets are answered very slowly. I've found the call wait times not too bad, but I suppose it's dependant on the time of day you call.

    So, I have adjusted my ratings for John Lewis BB given the better conditions at the moment. Service, connection, speed and reliability have improved so, its only fair my ratings should reflect that.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cheshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    awful just awful
    They just want to get you off the phone .They don't solve the problems they provide stock answers when that is often not needed .speed ( actually using the word speed is a misuse of the word) of 0.35MB yand no I haven't put the point in the wrong place!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Wow, how did not come across all these reviews earlier. Similar nightmare here..
    Been with Plusnet, BT and now John lewis, all the same group (incl EE).
    Within the first 5 days have had at least 6 disconnections at random times, support says, 'all ok 10 day training period?', thats ADSL not Fibre! Package ordered was 80/20 fibre extra, found out I was on 55/10, did they refund me, no of course not. Zyxel router supplied by JL on firmware version 10, current release 21? Would they update this for me? 'will happen in time'...cannot understand why I have so many issues, no engineer of course...first 10 days sir...

    Please, save yourself the hassle, there is something very wrong here at JL, go elsewhere if you have a choice. As I have been with other isp's that use the same infrastructure BT and plusnet (without any issues), I can only conclude the supplied zyxel 8924 b10a modem/router is at fault, how I do not know. Next time I get a disconnection I will replace the zyxel with the BT home hub 6 or the old and still trusted HG612 3b modem in conjunction with my own choice of router.

    Good luck out there! Stay away if you can. Will update after I swap out the hardware with old BT smart hub and/or HG612.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    suffolk
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I had checked the reviews before signing up, I foolishly went on the name. the service is appalling I finally got my broadband after 6 days of phoning and being on hold, two open reach visits which never happened and they have offered to refund the weeks broadband I didnt have as a gesture of goodwill, beyond amusing AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lymington, Hampshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    3 days shy of a month and zero service or any contact. No letter, no router, no response to 4 online queries. I’ve cancelled my direct debit and wished them luck pursuing me based on their egregious failure to provide any form of service whatsoever. STAY AWAY (it’s run by Plusnet but they were bought out by BT when they got too successful, that’s what BT do then run them into the ground. It’s clever).
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    I decided to switch to John Lewis for precisely the same reason as several others here, John Lewis’s good reputation. I was not initially advised that’ll email was web based, I found this out when I couldnt get mail direct to my mobile after speaking to a guru at O2. This was bad enough but then my home internet connection was so spasmodic I didn’t know how long I could suffer this. In the end I switched provider. JohnLewis certainly got their own back on me, they completely destroyed all my current email and all my contacts. Nothing left and no way to recover hundreds of missing email addresses other than from memory and a few helpful friends. I am extremely annoyed to say the least, not sure who to contact to vent my anger.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    If the service is bad, just wait until you try and close your account. Despite a letter confirming I was out of contract, I was billed a cancellation charge. After protesting this was reversed, only for me to be billed again for ongoing service, and their email to me does not accept replies. Told to use their QUERY facility which just goes round in circles. More than glad I'm leaving.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This internet service provider may say John Lewis, But it is not a John Lewis Brand at all. In fact, the internet is provided by Plus net.

    I was with JL Broadband for a year. At the beginning I bought the regular broadband package. The minimum guaranteed speed was about 8mb. I was receiving 1.2mb. They failed to fix this issue.
    My only option was to go to Fibre with a minimum guaranteed speed of about 25mb I got about 14mb. After weeks of complaints It finally got resolved, however for the rest of the year I was constantly raising complaints both online and on the phone.

    They don't like answering queries and they haven't a clue on the phone. They are very rude in fact and talk to you like a piece of garbage.

    My router brand was ZyXEL. I know, I know: 'Who'
    It was awful. Signal collapsed daily, needed reseting regularly. By the way. That takes 10 - 15 minutes simply to reboot.

    When I finally reached a year I left. But my troubles continued. As they don't like answering queries from customers, they don't communicate with each other in house either. My service was disconnected, however they continued to charge me and even threatened me with Debt Collectors. It was clear as mud on my bills and history. Service cancelled, please finalise account. Ignored in house.

    Overal
    If you would like internet that you may or may not receive, have problems constantly, have emails and query go un-answered leading to frustration and anger. Then John Lewis Broadband is for you!

    If you want an easier provider that are cheaper and better. Go elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lymington, Hampshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is truly dire customer service. I have obviously made a huge mistake choosing John Lewis Broadband. 16 working days now (22 filull days!) and no phone or broadband/router. Not even a response to my request for information. I wish I’d cancelled within the 14 days. So disappointing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    As all the other reviewers my service from them has been appalling, sat on hold at the moment for 30 minutes and they still haven't even answered the call. They owe me over £300 from failing to provide a service and have still not paid... only interested in taking your money .. AVOID!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    AVOID John Lewis Broadband at ALL costs.
    Their service is absolutely appalling. I signed up with them 6 weeks ago - still not even a router that works! They are the worst provider I've ever had. GO ELSEWHERE IF YOU WANT GOOD, EFFICIENT SERVICE
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coalville
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst provider I have ever had. Cant wait for my contract to end.Super slow speed, frequent crashes and all I get from customer service is "speed as advertised".Add one more device and everything is even worse. Would never recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sudbury suffolk
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been with John Lewis B/B for over 10 years. There service has seriously deteriorated. I am now without internet and email.I can no longer get into any of my accounts due to an Authentication problem they are having. Two new routers in ladt three weeks. Non of my passwords work. They have changed them twice without my permission. Not notified me of change so again I have no service at all. Open reach called out twice. They say it's being dealt by there fault team and will take sometime to resolve. Apparently many customers are affected including those with greenbee usernames. No one knows what they are doing support is disgraceful I am relieved that I am going over to a new supplier next week. Dont touch them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Truly shocking customer service; lack of consistency when dealing with complaints; can’t get hold of manager; issues with my DD which they still haven’t resolved 4 months later!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Simply dreadful on all fronts. Lower speed. No service. Terrible set up. Terrible customer service. A complete joke. Bt cost more but at least it worked.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.