John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Recent Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    2.3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.7 stars
  • Speed
    2.2 stars
  • Reliability
    2.3 stars

Based on 100 customer ratings since 2021-08-06 (Show all time ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

794 Customer Reviews over 20 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    King's Lynn
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Left BT after years of shocking service and Internet speeds that gradually dwindled from 15 to 8 megs. This I was informed was normal operating levels for my line by BT. Despite two years of operating at 15 megs?

    As a new customer to JLB very patient and accessible (and understandable!!) Customer Services. THREE engineers visits later 18 meg broadband returned.

    Thank You John Lewis Broadband!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Home broadband
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    How can anything be linked to John. Lewis that is so poor at basic customer service !
    Told my speed between 6-17 mbs was only 10.7mbs which in their eyes is more than acceptable - funny they won’t reflect this range in their prices
    They refuse to fix speed problems, I was advised by tech support that as my telephone point switch was an issue to remove the front cover and has been like this ever since
    Told by tech support that a new router may not fix issue but have to sign a new contract to even try
    Can anyone recommend anyone better than these cowboys?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    ROYSTON
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Engineers failed to show up on 3 separate occasions and then tried to quietly cancel my order.

    Customer service showed complete apathy for the situation and tried to book a fourth appointment without consulting me first and refused to re-imburse me for the days wasted.

    Do not use these guys as a ISP, they are awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been with various different broadband companies over the years, with mixed results, but John Lewis Broadband, and by extension Plusnet, the actaul provider, are without a doubt the worst provider I have ever seen.The speed is incredibly unreliable, constantly fluctuating an average of 5mbps to 0.2mbps in the space of minutes, having short periods of stability followed by days or weeks of abysmal service. Customer service is about as reliable as the network itself; it can take several days to get support, and when you do they always say the same thing about resetting things on their end, only for service to continue as normal... which is to say awful. I'm lucky enough to be the only member of my household who has managed to get a wired connection to my PC, and although that can reach decent speeds it will drop on a whim, and plans of gaming with friends can quickly devolve into disappointing night spent unable to connect to anything. The upoad speeds are so bad that attempting to upload anything, even small files like oictures and even long messages can cripple the entire service for several minutes. When trying to upload larger files the entire service is unuseable as it send your important files 1kb at a time; I almost failed an important university module when it took 6 hours to upload half of a 1.5gb file before the service cut out completely and it had to start again. Whether you want this service for work, school or leisure I can whole-heartedly reccomend you look elsewhere and forget that John lewis even supplies broadband... God knows they don't seem to remember themselves.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burnley
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Joined in June, all ok with BB but they changed my phone number after assuring me it would stay the same.This was rectified after a week and I was told I would receive an account credit. Since then no bills produced and no payments taken from my account. No info on their website and no response to my online enquiry. Very poor and disappointing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chichester
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Two weeks in and I am really happy to have changed to JL from talktalk. As far as reliability is concerned, I see no difference and I am happy that it meets my needs.
    Customer service is 100% better, I did need to contact them on the day I changed over and the problem was solved straight away by a very courteous young man. The change over was smooth ad clear, everything happened as they said it would.
    I have only one complaint and that is the little booklet that came with the modem could have been better. I could see they had tried to make it straight forward but I think the problem is instruction books are written by people who wholly understand the product. It would be such a simple thing to do if they ran them past the sort of people who might have a problem. Quite inexcusable though, was the picture of putting the plug together, it was back to front! Having said that, I always seem to have a gripe with instruction manuals and if I wasn't retired would consider making it my job to put them all to rights!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    After all the bad comments I was really worried by my decision to change from BT after years with them and increasing dissatisfaction. However one week in at this stage I can only say how pleased I have been with the handover process and the service so far. If anything the broadband speed seems to be a lot faster and more reliable but that may be because of an up to date router replacing the old BT one.

    The actual handover was incredibly smooth. The router was delivered a few days before the actual date and the phone was transferred first thing in the morning on that date. The broadband took longer so I phoned mid afternoon just to check there were no problems. The phone was answered pretty much straightaway and I was assured by a very helpful gentleman that I would be connected by midnight - as stated in the documentation. This was the case. It was really easy to connect the new router following the clear instructions first thing the next morning and I then breathed a big sigh of relief. So far so good with no interruptions in the service.

    Neither super fast nor fibre broadband are available in my area so I can't comment on the JL delivery of those services.

    I don't use JL email nor have I had my first bill so that may be an issue ahead but for the moment I am really pleased that I changed to JL. I am saving myself over £20 per month compared to what I was paying previously.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This was the worst experience I have had in several years of switching Broadband providers. I left JL after one year in November to another provider : they have continued to bill me via direct debit six weeks after the service was closed with no explanation about why they are continuing to take money. The only way to stop this has been to instruct the bank to cancel any further payments to John Lewis .

    Once the account was technically closed on 21st November, any method of contact about the account disappears leaving only the option of a call centre looked after by Plusnet. I have now done this explaining the situation three times which is frustrating. Despite three phone calls of getting on for one hour, this is still not sorted. Very poor customer service John Lewis and PLusnet .
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have never been so disappointed in a utility company. JL BB offered us a BB package which they were unable to supply. I have been attempting to deal with this matter for weeks and today I finally realised they are willing to lie and cannot be trusted. Formal complaint made.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swineshead
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful signed up on 25/6/17 didn't get phone connected till12/7/17 was told box had been ordered and would arrive in next couple of days after many emails and phone calls and being constantly fobbed off box was actually ordered on the 18/7/17 not on the 12/7/17 broadband was then finally connected on the 25/7/17 so it has took a whole month of frustration lies from them to finally get connected to then be going so slow 5 minutes to open a page rang up yet again be told can take up to 3 days to reach speed 4 days passed still taking forever rang yet again to then be told takes 10 days . Asked about cancelling to be told you are passed your 14 days which apparently start from when you sign up not when you receive the services so you don't even get chance to see if they any good before you are into your contract .please avoid this company totally useless service customer service just lie and fob you off now stuck with a service that's useless but still paying for
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ipswich
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We've had John Lewis broadband for a week now and it's been off more than it's on. We've had one good day's connection so far. We switched from BT because it was woeful and we could never understand their Indian call centres but overall, it's looking pretty good compared with John Lewis. They should have stuck to homewares.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kirdford
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible. I had to call them daily to get them to do their job! AVOID AVOID AVOID! It took over 4 weeks to get a new service up and running and that was with me calling them using my mobile to get anything at all sorted. They offered a measly free broadband for one month about £4.50! Constantly told it was all activated and it wasn't. Finally now have my service but will definitely ditch them once the 12 months has runout!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Richmond
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Unbelievably awful. We were due to move house TODAY and now have to stay put for another month, costing us thousands, because this dreadful company cannot have our broadband set up in our new home, despite having PROMISED to do so. My daughter has important exams and needs the internet during revision. We will now be moving house right in the middle of her exams. Their 'customer service' is just a load of platitudes. Why is an otherwise reputable brand destroying itself like this? Won't be buying from John Lewis, Waitrose etc. from now on. Avoid avoid avoid.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    Unbelievable - no customer service whatsoever. Made arrangements to change from my existing provider as this appeared cheaper.
    So easy to sign up to a contract. I was told an engineer needed to come to my house to re-install my old BT landline. Arrangements made and paid by me upfront. Within 12 hours had message to say there was a problem, and I needed to phone them. spent ages on phone listening to horrible musik. Could not get through. Went to new customers instead and through immediately. They said it was their computer problem and they did contract again and told me they would let me know when engineer would come to my house. Then got message Quote 'engineer will come to your property on .....'. So back to trying ring them again. Went back to option 1, 'New Contracts' Very officious, rude women told me she would transfer me to option 4 and back again to musik....
    Then I did option 5 to cancel. Pleasant gentleman said no need for engineer to come to your house, so I asked what the hell I had paid £49.99 for? No answer to that. So I cancelled. In the three days since I made the original enquiry about changing, I have sat on the phone for about two hours for nothing. Cannot believe how dire this has been. So glad I have stopped it in time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norfolk
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    What a shame that Plusnet who supply John Lewis broadband is giving John Lewis such a bad name. I know from being a John Lewis customer for years and have worked for the company that they do not treat their customers like I have experienced with Plusnet over the last 6 weeks that I have been with them. I only signed up with them because of John Lewis's good name and didn't know anything about Plusnet.
    Plusnet add says 'We'll do you proud' No Plusnet, you don't. A note to John Lewis: Dump Plusnet and get a broadband and phone company that can deliver the standard of customer satisfaction that we have come to know and rely on with John Lewis.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Sussex
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not sure how this works but used Waitrose webmail for years, mostly ok -easy to use etc but did sometimes keep logging you off. Something to do with the 'platform' it was on. Suggested use JL webmail same log in but hated it, so continued with Waitrose webmail until eventually it ceased.
    JL webmail is rubbish, too complicated, tiny writing, hard to use etc etc etc
    About time it was updated to something nice and simple to use and more reliable especially as so much is done by email now.
    Would leave if it was easy to do!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London, Greenwich
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have never received worse service from a broadband provider. Never go with John Lewis again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Penrith
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I would have given 5 stars for reliability of the consistency of the poor broadband speed and exceptionally poor customer service. Assistant after assistant tries (I suspect the system is the problem rather than the people) to do something and the easy option seems to be to bump it to the next billing date/openreach engineer visit and hope they can squeeze another month's payment out in the meantime. It is extraordinarilyl bad - I don't do reviews but am at my wit's end now and in the absence of any resolution from them over 5 months - I just need to share to release the frustration of being stuck with them not providing a minimum guaranteed speed at all (OR will agree but to JLB black is white). It is baffling. One thing that can be said though, is that they thoroughly deserve the accolade of being the joint worst provider in Which? 's current broadband services. Really do believe the poor reviews - ordinarily I might say decide for yourself, but this time - spare yourself the hassle.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    High Wycombe
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    The customer service of JLB is a disgrace.

    I called them 2 months in advance to move my broadband to my new apartment and they keep delaying my order and not telling me if they can install the broadband in time or not. They don't give customers straight answers about any queries just say sorry for the delay.

    I thought if I call them in advance that will help to make sure that I won't stay without internet after moving but it seems like they are not capable of providing a good customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    dorset
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TERRIBLE experience. Had to chase to get it set up again and again. Finally live and 3 days later they "accidentally" cut me off - no phone no broadband! The support line has a wait time of minimum 30 mins but usually longer and I held for ages on 4 separate occasions. They couldn't reinstate the line for over a week due to their error. I've asked other providers and it will cost £59 to reinstate my line and I have to have a new number too - unbelievable inconvenience. Worst of all they just didn't care less. So now I have no BB for another 7 days!
    Don't risk it with JLBB until they have got their act together!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up 1St March. They seemed to think I needed a new phone number, so queried that, no reply. 14 days later, no letter confirming transfer in, no router, no start date. Just cancelled my order now. Plusnet used to be good, clearly not any more. Steer clear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Stirlingshire
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dire service from John lewis. I've been getting speeds of 0.3 for 3 weeks now with no resolution of the fault. Customer service team are pleasant to deal with but so far have totally failed to fix the fault. They seem to put the query on hold every few days which adds further delays.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carnforth
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Broadband as supplied was fine and as expected. No issues during the initial 12 months. But once out of contract the price rose by 25% so I looked elsewhere. Found a much cheaper provider and moved. Noticed several months later that no refund had been made on the last months overpayment. Had to check bank statements, find my old broadband account details etc. Rang up Plusnet, the JL provider and was given some half baked tale about why the money hadn’t come through. A cheque has now been received. I urge all leavers to check they have had any monies due. JL distances themselves from the problem. JL clearly Happy to take Plusnets cash for the name association, but not willing to take the flack from the same association. Shame on JL. I expect nothing better from Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    eastbourne
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Very poor customer service,very hard to speak to anyone emails go unanswered so leaving them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Builth Wells
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Comments
    So disappointed, customer support seem to be trying, 9 queries logged now, no action taken, their website is not fit for purpose, only shows grey page when looking for itemised landline calls, they have to send me hard copy of same before I'm prepared to pay them, cancelled my 12 month contract with them(what a performance!),so disappointed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Builth Wells
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    So disappointed, customer support seem to be trying, 9 queries logged now, no action taken, their website is not fit for purpose, only shows grey page when looking for itemised landline calls, they have to send me hard copy of same before I'm prepared to pay them, cancelled my 12 month contract with them(what a performance!),so disappointed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dorset
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Not what i expected from a company such as John Lewis, however it very evident when contacting them and being passed to either the technical or provisions dept that you are talking to Plus.Net personnel, especially when they respond " Plus Net, how can I help you".

    They have in only a matter of days screwed up the billing process by billing me false invoices for which i have not received the services or that are included in the package i took. Adding to this the fact that i didn't pay them they have now restricted my service to what appears to be 0.1mb.... Not impressed, having been a customer of Plus.Net too I will most certainly consider not going to either of these suppliers in the future, I just wished i read and paid heed to the reviews previously.

    I am now one dissatisfied customer.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    I ordered JL fibre broadband on 10 August and was told that my broadband would transfer from BT to JL on 24 August. 21 August arrived with no router and no notification that the router had been sent. I phoned JL customer service to be told that the automatic router ordering process had failed. Apparently this was a known problem and JL were working on it (in which case why did JL not put a manual fail-safe in place until the automatic process was fixed?) I was told that the router would be sent out immediately but that it would take up to 5 working days to arrive. That would have been four days after the transfer date and it would have meant a Bank Holiday weekend with no broadband. If a company screwed up this badly before the service even started, it didn't bode well for the future, so I cancelled the order. Customer service were efficient enough when I contracted them; but they seemed totally disinterested in the fact that their (or more likely Plusnet's) systems were so unreliable.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible - avoid. The connection has been consistently poor. Often disconnects for no reason, Skype calls a nightmare. Upload speed virtually non existent. Switched to quality fibre provider now and the difference is astounding. Customer service poor - JL claim they never received our order to change suppliers despite BT engineer coming out to switch on new provider. We are effectively paying 2 suppliers for 2 months and despite repeated phone calls I cannot get this resolved unless I pay an additional £25 disconnection fee! Surprised that the John Lewis brand has such poor customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Durham
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for broadband on 10th March 2022. Late evening of 10th March I got a text saying there was a problem to contact you lines were closed so I had to wait until the next day. I was made to believe the matter was resolved until Wednesday 16th March when I got another message to say there was yet another problem. I again had to telephone where I was told my land line was a different sort to what JohnLewis use so my order had been cancelled and upon calling a new order was placed. Then today 19th March a further message relating to yet another problem… this isn’t looking good lines are not open on a weekend so I now have to wait until Monday to try and resolve the issue. It should be three strikes but we will see. When my service should be going live from signing up it is looking like the order keeps being cancelled and resigned from JohnLewis side. it is just constant delay and hassle I could do without.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Switched to JL one month ago. Everything fine till last week when broadband stopped suddenly. I was using my own router so plugged theirs in and still no internet. They sent bt engineer on premise if it was internal problem I would be charged £65.
    Broadband came after 5 days and was in house for 4hrs till finally I've said nothing wrong with their end and to contact JL stating their had been a few problems in the last couple of days with JL despite teaffic from house to openreach being perfect, and suspected JL had changed/deleted usernames or passwords which allowed access to bt network.I rang JL and advised them of this and he generated new password for me to enter into router admin pages and voila it was fixed thanks to my intervention and thoughts of the bt engineer.
    However, next day I had no broadband so rang up and was told there was no issue as it was fixed. I advised the router had no broadband lights on meaning there was no traffic at all and after he read his notes said that JL had authorized bt to cease and restart the service to try and fix. Obviously the rep I spoke to forgot to update the account stating it was fixed so now have to wait 5 days for a new line, when there was nothing wrong. Absolutely useless and technical supervisors narrow minded not to accept their ineptness. Luckily I was on a monthly rolling contact so BYE bye JL.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have been with JL Broadband now for just over three months and signed up to this on the basis that it was recommended by Which? as broadband provider of the year. The broadband service itself is provided by PlusNet - customer service is extremely slow (on average a 20 minute to their customer services hotline every time) and the connection speed is awful. My partner works from home and needs fast broadband to upload and download services from the internet. JL Broadband has massively hindered the efficiency of his work and we are having to restart our router every single day due to the fact that the line drops frequently to about 0.26MBPS which is completely unacceptable. I would not recommend this broadband service to anyone and we will most certainly be cancelling our subscription when the contract is over.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Islington
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    These guys are a bunch of clowns: they have not provided any internet to my house for nearly two weeks and ignored all messages asking them to fix it. The internet they have provided has been cutting out on and off for the last year. I have now cancelled.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Devon
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Moved from Virgin to JL. As well as everything above they actually answer the phone quickly and actually get back to you if there's a problem. So refreshing after terrible service from Virgin.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Apart from the obvious the speeds I have now understood why I was offered so much and received so little in the way of fine Lewis service, it seems to me living in a block of flats that I am not the only one receiving broadband service from my account, I explitively said I do not want the account to be written up as the blocks account, working from home our office wants and needs the professionalism that individual fibre into your home not the block and then disseminated amongst the residents who got to t
    City Fibre first as it came in off the street directly into a private home and dished out from there, not my private home someone else got the ONT box directly into there flat it's no wonder business has tailed off, I'm just wondering how I hold Lewis accountable this is account service theft on an unimaginable scale if this is why you can only get John Lewis Broadband down a copper wires ie: the telephone landline they are garnishing extra customers by dividing your individual account service.
    How do we know ,by the new doorbells appearing next to the outside intercom box whilst the recipients ditch the doorbell cable that's already buried in the block for stolen broadband and installed a dodgy little bell outside next to the intercom.
    The installers in a grey van..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London Chiswick / Acton / Hammersmith
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    This is a promised follow up of my earlier review that can be found below (see: 2018-09-08).

    In short: I do not have to change a iota of what I wrote there, I am very happy with the quality of the services provided and thoroughly recommend JLB to all.

    And what's more: Except checking the whereabouts of the cashback - slightly premature on my side, as it arrived within days - I have not contacted JLB even once during this time. I just did not have to: Phone line and broadband work brilliantly well, provided router (Zyxel VMG8924 - worth checking product updates on Zyxel website directly) is very stable and is much more sophisticated than equipment that BT supplies. If it wasn't about few power cuts that we experienced in our area earlier this year its uptime would be months (typically: hundreds of days anyway).

    So: I'm just paying the bills monthly and cannot believe it's nearly 12 months already.

    And a bonus: as my price just went up as I left initial 12-months deal, I just got in touch with JLB only to have it restored where it was with no changes to anything else for another year. What's not to like?

    To conclude - in exactly the same way as year ago:

    So, I am really not sure where all the negative comments are coming from. I also cannot say anything wrong about their staff either.

    I can only guess that some negative experiences may be related to exceptional circumstances: dodgy wiring etc. but perhaps also the fact that it's far easier to write negative rather than positive review.

    Last but not least: I shall update this review if circumstances change - especially after first 12 months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London Chiswick / Acton / Hammersmith
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Driven by flood of negative reviews seen here, and my (short so far) experience with JLB, I decided to write my own review as our experience with them so far is very positive.

    Context: We just migrated off BT 80MB (then, now it's 66MB only, I think?) Fibre and telephone service.I had been with BT for 7 years, moved house three times [South East & London] taking them with me every time and had no issues with them at all except once, when they were not able to move me as they had internal issues with their CMR and they just let me go then allowing for new (nice) deal to be put in place. Broadband and telephone service was operational at all times and I never had to contact them about any technical issues either. So my worry when we decided to move was that we will effectively break something that works splendidly well (although for a price): We decided to move based only on the extortionate price we had to pay - with JLB our monthly price is effectively less than half now.

    I ordered JLB Broadband & telephone service on 22/09 online - got migration date as 05/09 couple of hours later(contractual two weeks). Zyxel router turned up couple of days later and replaced BT Hub on the day of migration. Phone line has migrated early in the morning, with broadband following few hours later. As I was at work then, I just checked with JLB that all is good and witnessed the same once we got back home in the evening. Router was operational, and it was just WiFi / Ethernet configuration that I had to do. And that was it.
    Needless to say that all these steps were followed up by text messages & e-mails.

    So it's 72 hours for us just now: telephone service works as it did, broadband speed is exactly the same as it's been before. The only extra thing I did myself was to voluntarily upgrade the firmware in the provided router - and fiddle with its settings.

    So, I am really not sure where all the negative comments are coming from. I also cannot say anything wrong about their staff either.

    I can only guess that some negative experiences may be related to exceptional circumstances: dodgy wiring etc. but perhaps also the fact that it's far easier to write negative rather than positive review.

    Last but not least: I shall update this review if circumstances change - especially after first 12 months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ringwood
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible customer service. Delayed installation of broadband for over a month so ended up cancelling and going with another provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst decision ever to go with John Lewis as a provider. We are trapped in a contract for pretty non existent service. I’ve spent a fortune on mobile data as I have to hotspot to my phone for the slightest thing. I wish John Lewis would send themselves off to space on a one way rocket trip. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    John Lewis Broadband
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Words fail me. I have had terrible service and even worse "customer care" from JL. Don't go there. Life is too short..

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.