Plusnet Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.5 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.7 stars
  • Speed
    3.3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.4 stars

Based on 1973 customer ratings since 2021-06-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,571 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    literally don’t waste your time like no offence but it took a bloody week to set up, had to change all our dns settings because plus-net wants to be quirky and difficult and now i can’t watch a video without it loading every 2 minutes. absolutely obnoxious. not satisfied.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Watermillock
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reported a problem. Advised line fault was identified. Advised of fix date and to instructed to remain in on this date. No further communication and problem still exists. Speed of .73mbs which was previously 10mbs. Maybe not their fault, and maybe down to Openreach, but I will move asap to a few company that provides feedback and updates. I guess you get what you pay for!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Can’t stand it I signed up to broadband and mobile Both a let down internet keeps cutting out and continually needs turning off and on to work again and as for phone 3G and even that cuts out will be switching both as soon as possible warning to others please use someone else
  • Reviewer
    Location
    POLEGATE
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The worst Broadband company i
    have ever had dealing with in my life time if anybody has sense stay away from them bad service all round. No English-speaking operators to deal with your problems.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Almost at the end of my 18 month contract- thankfully!

    WiFi started dropping out after a few months - had to reboot router to get it going again. Some devices just wouldn’t work or would work intermittently. In the end I found a thread on their community forum with literally 1000’s of comments on it that had the exact symptoms of the internet service I was receiving - turns out the router is known to be defective! I did manage to get a firmware update pushed to the router that made it more stable but I do still have drop outs of the 5gHz occasionally. I will definitely be changing provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wouldn't even rate them one star the lack of communication is beyond the worst I've ever come across, my daughter at the age of 7 could do a better job, billing dates was never changed when I asked for 5 months but was reassured over the phone the billing dates had been changed, I was billed for late payments due to this at the rate of almost 8pound on top of my bill that they had put up to 30 pound a month for Internet that was never working always cutting off,Plusnet breached the contract on several occasions cutting my services off before the 14days of a late payment,plusnet are a money scamming Internet provider that doesn't give you the service that you should be getting, I was paying for fast fiber and had nothing but issues for months on end, the staff tell you what you want to hear over the phone then don't follow though with what's said, on several occasions I've had the phone put down on me. I am highly disappointed, my account was supposed to be credited due to all the complications but never was. Worst providers I've ever been with I also had to make a upfront payment to join. I HAVE NOW JOINED TALK TALK WHOS STAFF HAVE been trained up well in dealing with customer service and join for fast fiber at an brilliant rate that stick to the contract agreement
  • Reviewer
    Location
    High Wycombe
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Signed up for plusnet broadband in October 2020.
    Still no connection 22.12.2020. Suzana Salihu rang me on 24.12.2020 and confirmed that I would be connected by midnight the latest. That didn’t happen. She cancelled my existing broadband. That is all. I was left without connection over Christmas. I was not able to keep in touch with family abroad. Suzana Salihu was not even able to understand why I made a complaint, after all she allowed me to have phone line. I was given £60 goodwill gesture. Hope she got a bonus.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cannock
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    As a long serving Plusnet customer. I am suffering rolling service black outs every night at an ever increasing rate. After months of this Plusnet customer service did not want to know. I filed a complaint and I got a copy and paste scripted automated reply.

    I wrote to the CEO of the company who did not reply but passed me onto another drone who has been worse than useless and continues to play games as to get me to go away, live with it or give up.

    They are simply playing a game of attrition with me.

    My internet speed is ever decreasing. I had an issue with there speed a few years back it was running as low as 1mb at key times of the day.

    Due to these rolling blackouts I cannot take the risk of working from home and have to commute long distances just so I can perform my job.Costing me a lot more money.

    After years of dealing with Plusnet you learn to live with inferior service and low expectations.

    Over the years they have been rude, unhelpful and uncaring. The last time I was having rolling blackouts they would not do anything because they had a rate of something like 20 per month and I had 19.

    My whole Plusnet experience has been a dog fight. Ever increasing prices and decreasing service.

    You will not get any help from them. They hide behind there bureaucratic, cold, robotic anti people processes

    After having many internet service providers I've got to say Plusnet is by far the worst
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    18 months in and finally now able to rid my house of PlusNet - Terrible speeds, unusable for much of the day is more than one device is in use. Terrible customer service, no interest, empathy or resolution. This company claims to be all about it's customers but that couldn't be further from the truth in my experience.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Customer service hung up on me when I telephoned to cancel my contract.
    I am cancelling because the Billing is very difficult to understand. If it is wrong they apply monthly credits as they are unable to adjust the cost to the agreed rate.
    They apply annual incremental increases every March so one needs to be aware of that whatever is agreed.

    They refuse to put a deal in writing by email, wanting you to sign up based on information given on the telephone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crewe cheshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Boy am I glad to get away from Vodafone,signed up with plusnet brill speeds,they had my broadband up and running asoon as my contract ended with Vodafone on the same day,I'm happy with everything and customer service were great,thankyou plusnet for a broadband that works perfectly.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    Dreadful broadband. Keeps buffering and crashing.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Sussex
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Do not choose Plusnet. Their customer service is terrible. They do not deal with issues and you risk being without connection for a considerable amount of time if you have any issues as they are not interested in resolving problems and do not communicate with you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    norfolk
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    when I signed I was supposed to get a cash back voucher but when I tried to caim the £75 voucher PLUSNET said the offer had expired even though they where still promoting it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So I called the helpline today to cancel my subscription with plusnet, (poor speeds and cost increase) to get an adviser called Stu. From the get go he was rude and arrogant and belittling. As the call went on he explained that I should have had emails from plus to say of price increase, I explained that I had not received any emails from plus, not in spam or junk. Stu gave me the email he had which is not my email never has been. Turnes out that if you haven't given your email to plusnet they MAKE one up for you. So its my fault I haven't given my email....I would have had I been asked. I have left plusnet
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oldham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I signed a 18 month contract and like most people the price went up in April which I wasn’t happy about. So I rang Plusnet to log my disgust about it. The agent was cocky and repeatedly quoted that it was in the T&C and I should of read them properly when I signed up. When I pointed out that plusnet had failed to give 30 days notice of the increase I got the usual lies that plusnet sent a warning in February and I must of not read it, then the excuse it might be in my spam or in my junk mail you know the script, complete rubbish. I’ve checked my spam and junk and NO email received. The cheeky get then offered to credit my account with £15 and then sent a message saying that my query was dealt with and I was happy with the outcome.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Greenhithe
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    Signed up in the 3rd April and we are now on the 4th may and no broadband, had to speak to 4 staff member until one did what he called the basic to identify what the problem was. The complaint team do not call you and two agents promised to call me back and failed. The staff are polite but they fail to do thier basic jobs when following their tick sheets, very poor customer journey!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Clacton on sea
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    your company made me take 3 days off work and no one attended. Left me with a service for 8 months that didn't work.
    All together I've lost 780 with your company in an 8month period, promised my check of 120 would be paid in 14 days. I'm still waiting after 17.
    Staff are badly trained. Had the phone put down on me when I attempted to cancel my contract.
    The list goes on.
    Diabolical company. Will never recommend and will post a bad review every single chance I get for the rest of my life about your company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dreadful customer service for business. Extremely long time waiting for call to be answered. Totally incompetent when dealing with my problem with new line. Only ever contact me with text which I cannot reply to no email I can write to ---just the phone number which no one wants to answer
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Conisbrough, South Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Been with Plusnet for several years.
    When I have had problems, only once have I had to put the phone down after waiting 25 minutes Apr 2022). But the next day I was picked up with 30 Seconds.
    staff was brilliant. Genuine apology for there being a problem. After quick checks, a fault was found and an engineer was booked the next morning.
    This great service has happened every time I have contacted Plusnet for various reasons.
    Great Staff. Great service. Great company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Perth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Hi
    Long term customer. Moved house and new contract agreed. However, as it was 23 March I started contract, ONE WEEK later I had my package price increased by 3.9% - ONE WEEK!!

    Sales person did not mention this when switching. I assumed (wrongly) that the price I was quoted would include this very recent change.

    Customer service just keep referring to an email they sent in February about their price increase.

    Will switch as soon as I can afford the cancellation charges!!

    I though PlusNet were good, not anymore, don't know what's happened to them.

    A shame because the competition ain't any better.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Urmston
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Comments
    tried to check my latest bill.Nobody takes the call,just constant music.absolute disgrace,no other way to contact them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible.

    It's my elderly Mum's account and we moved from PlusNet to John Lewis exactly a year ago - it even says on the plus net account this is the case - but have found out that she was being charged by plusnet as well! Customer service... well, after waiting over 30mins I spoke to an advisor who told me there was no way this could happen, asked to be put back on hold, then cut me off.

    Mum is down £211.99 and I'm still trying to get hold of them. This is after a year of bad billing and all manner of mistakes by plusnet previously.

    If you want to keep sane, stay far far away from this shambles of a company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    bedfordshire
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have tried several times to query my bill. No-one picks up. There is no email address and chat has been stopped. So customer support is non existent
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plymouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Customer service is non existence. You cannot contact them by phone. After repeated calls I still have not spoken to anyone ( at least 20 calls, kept on hold for 30 minutes each time ). DO NOT SIGN UP TO THIS SHOWER, THEY DO NOT CARE ONCE YOU SIGN UP, ALL THEY ARE INTERESTED IN IS YOU MONEY.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Company SIM card deal was offered but no service provided within initial 3 weeks. Company shielding themselfs with technical issues that will be resolved within 24/48h for first 2 weeks and after they say it will take 12 months. No refunds, no contact to complaint except of rude customer service. Stay away
  • Reviewer
    Location
    MANCHESTER
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    Terrible, been with them for a while, not reliable...drop outs up to 5 in an hour. They send out openreach who do nothing. I will be moving when my contract is up
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I cannot believe that I changed from BT to Plusnet!
    Do not believe any of the things they say on their website about how good their service is. I have joined Plusnet back in November 2021, since day one we have had problems. Everyday we would lose internet for about 15 minutes up to 5 times a day (mostly during working hours). We have asked a few times to fix it, each time they either said oh let us update your router, or sent an engineer. After the problem not being resolved I asked them to cancel my contract and eliminate the termination fee, however they are refusing to do so. they say each time you have reported a problem, we look at it as a new fault and we have 30 days to fix it, but each case is only open for 14 days, meaning if on the 15th day we have the same problem again, they oncemore have 30 days to fix the problem. This is company is a joke. I don’t even know why they are allowed to still run their business. Today they were supposed to send an engineer again. I took a day of and only after the time that the engineer was supposed to be here they called to say he can’t come! STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newcastle
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Deeply regret choosing Plusnet fibre broadband. Speed and reliability are appalling. In the last year, loss of connection has been a daily occurrence and I haven't noticed any increase in speed since switching to fibre. Although signing a 48 month contract, I am now prepared to pay the penalty fee to cancel my contract with Plusnet.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wigan
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely the worse company I have ever experienced in my life. I waited for 14 days to get me service setup before giving up and going back to VM. Useless customer support, engineers that don't show up. Different storied from one day to the next! Utter rubbish!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Holsworthy
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Keeps dropping out, will only work in one room, Slower than my mobile connection. So called free gift impossible to activate so thats a con. Cant cancel or i have to pay a years fee.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hailsham
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    For a company who are meant to be great at customer service, they are shockingly bad. Tried three times to call. First time got cut off almost immediately. Second time waited 20 mins then got cut off once I eventually got through to a customer service person. Third time waited 20 mins again then found out something I asked to be actioned in Feb hadn't been done (2 months later) hence the need for my call. Speed isn't great. Got charged the first year for a speed we got nowhere even close to half the speed promised. Once I'm able to switch to full fibre I'm not looking back and would not use plusnet again, just waiting for a connection date with my new fibre company.....
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY
    I ordered and paid for Plusnet on 17/03/22 (new customer) they said it takes up to 10 days to switch over, after 10 days I contacted them, they told me there was a technical error and would get an update in 2 days, every 2 days since then I have been contacting them to find out when they will provide me with the service I paid for, each time I got the same story and would get an update in 2 days time, its now 11/04/22 still no Internet with them, I called again to be told my Internet will be switched on 27/04/22..... they do not know why this has happened but cannot bring it forward. I have asked for a full refund to which I will supposedly receive in 20 days time! What an absolute joke of a company!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oban
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The same history. Trapped by a contract with no escape from the fraud. I had the service working decently for 18 months, but needed to move home. After asking for my landline and broadband to be moved, just received a lot of congrats messages (you are connected!) But no connection at all. After two weeks of calling and obtaining vague answers, they cancelled my contract and started a new one during a phone call and said that this was necessary because the process of moving house was broken.....still waiting connection.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Walton on Thames
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrendous- cuts out every 10 minutes on fibre service. Impossible to work from home. Can’t wait till my contract is up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wales
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with them for years but now are an absolute shambles. Messed up the house move created a new account with wrong details, eventually got going but just had email saying a direct debit set up on old account - called and they said ok we'll sort it. They cancelled the old account but also managed to cancel email address. Rang them and they couldn't seem to care less. They agreed to open the old account as email only but would take several days so I'm without emails.COMPUTER SAYS NO is the current service response to everything. Incompetence rules since BT took them over
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Kent
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Complete rubbish service, I had broadband and my mobile with them. When I moved, I cancelled my broadband, they cancelled my mobile by mistake, then tried to charge me for cancelling the broadband again! The signal in the mobile is appalling, nobody can phone me, or I can’t phone out. The broadband speed is about as fast as the old fashioned dial up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cornwall
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst company I have ever dealt with. They shouldn't be allowed to treat customers the way they do. No Internet for a month, fobbed off on the phone and missed appointments. Theyve still taken their money though!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Benny from the Customers Advocate was amazing. Has excellent customer service and really took care of me. 10/10 for customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bournemouth
    Reviewing
    Plusnet
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Although I wish no ill fate on any other customer, there is some level of comfort to be had, by reading how utterly incompetent, useless and undeserving of anyones business Plusnet actually are. In fact, whoever deemed it appropriate to give them any so called award for customer service must be a relation of the family. Received a £200 compensation the first time around, and considering there initial response was, we can only offer you £25, it must give you readers some idea of the lengths of total customer service failure they were guilty of. As I say, this was the first dealings. Now a simple home move request and they couldn’t even get that right as well. But what really grates across all, which I think is fair to say that I speak from many, is the fact that this organisation seems to accept and condone no communication whatsoever to the customer prior and during when things go wrong. They simply just don’t deliver on their promise of any of their agreed service dates, and flagrantly fail to give any notification, but instead, wait for the customer to realise their phone and broadband haven’t been connected on the agreed date, then when the customer finally gets through to customer service, they recite “unfortunately your application for a home move failed”!!!
    No phone line, no broadband, just wilderness for all. Finally the question we should all be asking, is why are we still giving these cowboys any of our new business? Like so many people who run their own businesses like I do (mine for some 35 years now), all feel the same that should we dare to show such disregard, with a couldn’t give a toss attitude, we all wouldn’t stay in business another year, yet these clowns seems to thrive… I think it’s time to outlaw such pee takers like Plusnet, and through social channels like this one, inform the public what they are sadly in for, if they misfortunately place an order with these buffoon’s.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.