Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 2698 customer ratings since 2021-08-12 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,224 Customer Reviews over 106 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Exeter, UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    WORST INTERNET PROVIDER!!!
    They raised their prices 3 times during our contract and would not provide me a way to exit out the contract. Very hard to get rid of them. Very very bad customer Service. Never ever going back, even if they provide their services for FREE!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I set up on virgin media business broadband in order to get a better, more stable service
    My service started on 13 Dec - Virgin did not tell me of a major fault to the service. This wasn’t fixed until 5 Jan
    I’ve had other loss of service incidents in Jan and Feb. My phone line still isn’t connected
    I’d strongly advise to listen to the many, many negative reviews on this site, and stay away from this provider. They are truly awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible company. The worst broadband provider I've been with. Too many bad experiences to list but here are a few:

    They provided a router which randomly resets its configuration so I randomly find all my devices are no longer connecting and have to reconfigure it.

    When I ring up about the problem router they tell me that I must be resetting the router and they won't give a replacement despite there being dozens of others in the same situation on their own support forums.

    When I left them I rang up to check if there would be a cancellation fee before signing up with another provider. They told me there wouldn't be so I signed up with another provider and rang back 5 days later to cancel my virgin account. At this point they pulled the ol' bait and switch and told me I would be charged a £241 cancellation fee.

    When I asked to complain about this I was told as I already had a complaint in progress I could not make a complaint. I promptly went to their website and made a second complaint which it turns out is entirely possible.

    I'm now £241 out of pocket but it was worth it to leave this nasty company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Maidstone
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    TO ALL PEOPLE WHO MAY WANT TO BECOME A VIRGIN CUSTOMER!!!
    Please be very very careful with that organisation of FRAUDSTERS.
    If you want to cancel the contract you will not be able to do so!!!
    I’m a customer of Virgin over 10 years and now decided to cancel the contract.
    UNFORTUNATELY THERE IS NO CHANCE TO DO SO BECAUSE THOSE CHEATS EITHER NOT ANSWER THE PHONE OR HANGING THE PHONE DOWN ON THE MIDDLE OF REQUEST.
    So in very simple words that organisation simply breaching all possible consumer rights and forcing you to stay with them as you have no chance to cancel your contract.
    Me and my wife spent hours and days on the phone but they simply not dealing with our cancellation request.
    PEOPLE BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THOSE FRAUDSTERS!!
    We now cancelled our direct debit as this is only the way to get rid of them and also will make a complaint to Financial Ombudsman.
    Do not take any contract with them because if you will than it will be forever
    AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hopeless- I am speaking to the agent from 830 am till 1230 just to paint a picture no exaggeration.
    I am new customer who has not even got the services yet,
    I have been transferred 4 times as they have not got the order correct or delivered and the cost
    the speed also is not guaranteed also they have NO CUSTOMER EMAIL ADDRESS FOR EMAILS so be warned
    take my advise pay a bit more and go elsewhere
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute disaster. No Internet for over two MONTHS! All call centres are in India and their level of "care" is actually appalling. I have to leave, wasting so much time, effort and money. Please don't waste your time. Better off paying more for better customer service. Please don't make the same mistake I did!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Installation is looking like it is going to take 3 months. Customer service are no help whatsoever. Worst company I've ever dealt with.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Norwich
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Just wasted 50 minutes on the phone trying to cancel my contract as they rose the price by £3.00.

    Nobody picking up the phone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give 0 stars, I would. This was the poorest customer service I have ever experienced in any brand whatsoever. I attempted to change internet providers to Virgin and was left without internet for 1 month due to delays in 'works in the area', the installation date was pushed back twice the DAY before. At a time when there are people who work from home and rely on the internet. TERRIBLE. Do not use this company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After 3 months of acceptable service.Ebrry evening at peak time the speed slows and often breaks off. Getting through to customer service is difficult and time consuming. A complaint was broken off without being resolved. Awful service ,terrible customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Coulsdon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have terrible Internet speed and reliability and have had for over 5 months. Virgin refuse to try and resolve the issue and refuse to compensate for the issue. Virgin are great until something goes wrong and then they are beyond terrible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North east Lincolnshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Virgin media charges large disconnection fees for moving home because there is no virgin media available in the building where I have moved to? They also saying that I I haven’t sent back WiFi Pod Plume Power in the return package which I have? They are threatening to take action if not paid the charges. The service is very bad and too much charges.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    Broadband is left not working for weeks and when you try and get in contact they continuously hang up on you. They have terrible customer service and have no interest in resolving your issues.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dreadful service
    Absolutely dreadful service. Have been unable to access my email now for almost a week. Contacted virginmedia 3 times spending over 2 hours on the phone then being cut off and the problem is still not resolved. Was told I would be contacted by them within 24 hours on each occasion and they never did. No access to important documents and information is totally unacceptable. Appalling service … avoid!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Does anybody here wants to know the true meaning of "banging your head against a brick wall" Or maybe 'Daylight Robbery' You only need to join Virgin Media and you will experience it first hand.
    I joined Virgin Media thinking its a half decent company but I make the worst choice ever.
    I was initially on M100 Fibre Broadband and it did not deliver al all so I made the mistake of upgrading to the M350 Fibre Broadband only to find out that the speed is exactly the same as the M100 but the most appalling thing was that the operator who I dealt with lied to me big time. I have asked him numerous time whether or not the new contract was subject to any increase and he kept saying: No I will charged the same amount for 12 months. Now after checking my account I find out that the monthly cost will increase considerably to almost a double after 6 months.
    I have decided to ring them up but I was disconnected twice already after 49 minutes on hold and then another 36 minutes second time.
    Now I am forced to make a complaint and escalate my complaint to Ofcom.
    My advise here, steer away from virgin media they are not what they advertise.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have NEVER received the speed that I have been paying for over the months that I have been a Virgin broadband customer - despite paying for a 100mb connection I average approximately 20mb. Connection always drops, and I'm left with constant buffering - watching anything online is full of frustration. Upon informing Virgin, after investigation, I was told that there is no issue and I was left with no option but to put-up and shut-up. I would not be recommending Virgin at all!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Birmingham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Totally rubbish services there is no customer service that can help or want to solve the issues.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Swindon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    So i have tried to renew with them looked up foe the deals they have, obviously new customer doesn't apply to me but they had £2-£3 more expensive, but the customer service, nor customer relations did not gove me that contract and kept saying they can't do that, asked to speak to the manager but apparently the manager has "an emergency meeting" honestly spent 40min on the phone and now waiting for call back.... they are just ridiculous!! Can we all just stop using them now?!

    Also what about the yearly increase of £3.5?? Even when you have a contract with them?! Need to go again through lengthy talks for them to refund or cancel the cost...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mansfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    Comments
    I don’t know where to start tbh. Moved house in June and was originally with virgin but out of contract so decided to move. Basically because the Wifi, is basically crap. Good in the room your sitting, but step a foot out and your screwed. Anyway moved house and was called by Virgin who sold me a great deal…the oomph package which is basically everything, apparently including some data less sims so we can add to our iPads etc. well it’s now January 22 and not once received any of these sims. We have a downstairs office literally next to the lounge which my wife needs every day due to being a home worker. The wifi could not even reach in here. They sent us this booster pod thing which did absolutely zilch. Multi room box upstairs never worked and of course neither of my children could use their fire stick because wifi is so crap. Now this price increase which as actually been great for us because it’s managed for us to get out of the contract. We have cancelled. A blinking awful company and apparently, found out since, these supposed data less sims were supposed to be supplied by o2. Well I spoke to o2 and they knew nothing about this so basically been paying £25 for these which I didn’t know about. Of course, no offer of refund despite this mis-selling. Without doubt the worst company I have ever had to engage with and will never ever ever ever go back to them. Branson, your a disgrace pal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Holland Park
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin broadband give a truly terrible service from slow speeds to going down a lot sometimes for weeks! And do everything they can to not pay compensation; certainly will not pay a penny unless I made a stink. Then when I eventually get round to cancelling, which is by no means an easy task, I was hounded to stay & even told I would only receive compensation if I stayed! Their customer service is a joke.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Never keept whats agreed, overcharged me big time, not easy to end up contract. This company its a scam! The way the customer service is created to operate is to cheat people. Avoid!!+
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Constant broadband outages everyday and significant reduction of speed throughout the day causing severe disruption to working from home. Having to use personal mobile data as a susbstitute. Virgin have refused to provide me a dongle to access the internet and insist on a 30 day notice period to leave all the while they are unable to provide me a workable broadband service I am paying for. Poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Erith
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I thought of joining Virgin as my contract with other provider was about to run out. Big mistake. They set up date of installation, then I received text that there is an earlier slot, I replied back agreeing to it and on the said day no one arrived. Called them to find out that they know nothing about changed date and didn.t care that I could send them screenshots as evidence. They insisted on their date. I was off sick so I thought, whatever, I can wait. On the day engineer arrived at the very last minute of agreed time and said he wont be able to install the line as he knows that there is no one around to give him access to cupboard with thee internet lines and that he explained it to the head office before to set different time slot. Next day I received text + email informing me that the next available date will be in 2 weeks!!! I decided to call them and that's where hell broke loose. Apparently I supposed to have "phone password" to be able to identify myself. I told them that I cant remember setting one. I got internet account, set security question but couldn't remember setting anything for a phone. They were using secondary verification until I had enough and declared that I changed my mind and want to cancel installation/contract. They said I have to call different number which when I called was out of use. Called them again on normal line and they disconnected me 4 times after learning that I want to cancel and don't know my phone password. Called once more and asked how can I reset this password. They replied that its not possible as there is no option for it, not online nor over the phone... I asked then that this mean that I have been put in the limbo and have no way to leave them or even complain as I have no means to contact them, btw, if you try to inform them about leaving online you will end up on error 404 website... They declared that I can request a letter with reminder of my password which I agreed to... 2 weeks ago! My guess is it comes on a donkey from India as that's where their call centres are located. Cherry on the cake was a phone call from them after I replied to text informing me that next day will be my installation day, and declining to it. The guy was trying to set another date after I told him that I do not want it and I'm trying to cancel the whole thing! He couldn't understand what I am saying to him and it really started to feel like I am on the line with one of these scam call centres. I told him to go and find my letter and finished the call. Now I lost access to my online account as well so not sure if I'm still with them or not. Please do your self a favour and stay away from Virgin, they are not cheapest on the market anymore as well so don't let them to trick you in the trap similar to mine.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Doesn't deserve even one star!!!!!!!

    I have been with Virgin media for 17 years and have recently moved to my new house in December 2021. The move obviously is always stressful but what has made this worst for me is my decision to move my services with me. It’s been 6 weeks now and having spent countless hours over phone and having had several visits to property by technicians/surveyors and having spoken to countless people/agents and having paid more money and several cancelled/rescheduled appointments, I am still without Internet and media services till date with no solution in sight!!!!!

    Not only are there long waits to speak to an agent and frequent call drops but they are also not trained and lack knowledge and there is absolutely no coordination between various teams. Some agents have been insulting and rude. Their lack of knowledge has resulted in me getting false and misleading information and has caused me extreme anxiety and inconvenience.

    Each agent I have spoken to has given me different information which contradicted the information from previous agent and each one of them say that the previous agent has given wrong information. Majority of the times I was just being transferred from one team to other and would go through security checks 10 times and keep repeating myself every time when transferred to a new agent in a call. This is extremely frustrating and i firmly believe that no customer should go through such an experience!

    I thought I may have been an exception but reading other reviews posted clearly highlights that the company does not care about customers anymore and wouldn't pay any attention to issues/complaints.

    I strongly suggest not to consider Virgin media if you do not want to go through torture and harassment.

    Sharing few of my life experiences (or rather absolute harassment)!!!!

    There have been several days when I have made 10 calls or more, waited and spent more than 8/9 hours in a day, spoken to more than 15 agents in a day!

    Logged an official complaint for hassling customers, miscoordination (Internal installation & external installation team/ Movers & Preinstallation team), mis informing customers and appalling customer services 2 weeks ago but have not heard anything back from anyone, not even an acknowledgement!

    Installation was initially scheduled for 17th Dec but couldn't be carried out as the cable has been pulled up by Construction Unit to a wrong place.

    Since then, trying to rectify the simple issue as above has been more difficult than reaching Mars!

    One of the calls to report this issue- the Agent promptly cancelled the order and hung the phone without any proper discussions

    The installation was moved to 12th Jan (earliest) which meant no services in our new home for 3 weeks specially during holidays!

    One of the agents said that mobile dongle would be provided free to ensure we have internet during Xmas and asked me to speak to Mobile team which was an absolute nightmare as all agents subsequently refuted each other and told me to buy it!

    Another agent when followed up in December (20-24th Dec) said that the external team has gone again and fixed the issue that morning, but this was untrue as the issue was still unresolved. Not sure why these agents are forced to lie perhaps to placate or get rid of the call soon!?

    To summarise, there is an issue with how External installation team has left the cable and all the calls I have made and countless hours I have spent since then is to get this corrected because the internal installation team would not be able to do anything until this is fixed and I will keep experiencing this pain until then and would not have any services too!!!
    ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!!!!

    Hope someone, somewhere in the system takes a note of how far the customer services have deteriorated and how much pain it is causing the customers but, in the interim, would strongly suggest everyone to consider Virgin Media only if you are not left with any other option!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst appointments ever. They scheduled my appointment for installation 3 times until now. I am still waiting. 3 months until now and they didn't install my internet connection until now
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Grimsby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely the worst customer service I have ever had the displeasure of enduring. Contact information is not on the website, when you do find it you have to call twice since the first time is a bot and restarts the router and hangs up.
    When you eventually get through to an agent, they're poorly trained and often don't know how to resolve any issues past restarting the router (again) and will often offer to transfer your call before disconnecting you.
    Complaints about service level are often met with them trying to sell you a business package if you want actual customer service.
    All in all I am hugely dissatisfied with virgin media and will be running very far, very fast the second my contact is up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Romford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I took out virgin media as there was a refer a friend reward of £60 each person . The one taking new connection and whoever refers you . After one month I got text message. Says my £60 reward cancelled . Called virgin media , they said they don’t know why . Called their partner who deals the reward , they said if it’s virgin media who declined your reward then they have to give answer . End of the day I did not get any reward money , I took out expensive broadband connection , now I cannot cancel my contract until end of 2 years
  • Reviewer
    Location
    basingstoke
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    worst customer service ever . just about impossible to get through by phone or live chat , then get passed from one agent to the next non of whom seem to care or have any intention of helping with your enquiry . i suffer mental health issues and following a recent house move on medical grounds to an area not covered by virgin was still charged £130+ cancellation fee . now i am now being harassed for £40 for their equipment despite them sending me an email saying they have arranged collection . at one point i asked one agent if i could speak to a manager and was told i would be wasting their time . without doubt the worst customer service ever
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Scotland
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Judge for Yourself… Full Chat transcripts kept as evidence

    I was a VM Customer and joined O2 and was given an upgrade from 500MB to 1GB broadband. I was informed that I needed an upgraded router which was sent out via Yodel. Tracking said out for delivery on Friday. Delivery never attempted, tracking said “Please arrange to collect your parcel from our depot by using the Manage your parcel feature above”. I sat in ALL weekend as Yodel promised each day that it was going to be delivered. Didn’t happen.
    Monday 22nd Nov 2021VM Online Chat (took 2hrs) and informed them I was at work. Asked for router to be put to a shop for pickup. Not possible finally got them to cancel first router and send out another for pickup from a shop near my work.
    Tuesday 23rd Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (5 hours 11 minutes) contacted again as no sign of old router being cancelled or new one dispatched.
    14:20, Nov 22 Alistair : Broadband TV or Phone
    16:33, Nov 23 Ayat: Apologies for the experience, I will go ahead and raise a new order for you, Alistair. Is it a new Hub4 you are looking forward to upgrade to with 1 Gigabytes?
    17:50, Nov 23 Ayat: Appolgies for the experience, Alistair. I just tried raised an Order for the new Hub4 but due to somereasons it is not happening, You please need to cotanct us after 24 hours, As the system will be refreahed and we will be able to send you a new Hub.
    18:01, Nov 23 Alistair : can you not just do this i have already spent hours over the last 2 days on this chat trying to get this sorted?
    18:13, Nov 23 Ayat: I can completely understand this, I am unable to place the order, Alistair.
    18:15, Nov 23 Alistair : this is not acceptable. VM is taking up too much of my time and I'm going round in cirlces
    18:16, Nov 23 Alistair : you give me a service that i cannot use and spendin hours on this thing. I want to cancel my broadband
    Alistair : this chat was intiated @14:20 hrs GMT it is not 18:54 hrs!
    18:57, Nov 23 Reliza: Excellent! We’ll need to go through a few security questions. I’m going to send you a secure web form for you to answer. Please put the 7th, 10th and 13th characters of your password in the secure link. This is the password you use when you call in, and not your online account password. Please keep in mind that the form will expire in 30 minutes once we have sent it to you.
    19:05, Nov 23 Reliza: Great. Thanks for that! May I know the reason for contacting us?
    19:06, Nov 23 Alistair : How many times do i have to repeat myself, 1 min until i copy and paste
    19:14, Nov 23 Reliza: I do apologize for that, Alistair. Just to confirm, do you want to have the Hub 4, right?
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i would but i cannot afford ANYMORE time dealing with this myself, too much time spent on this already
    19:15, Nov 23 Alistair : i am risk my employment, I am supposed to be working not on this 19:18, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm very sorry about your frustrations today, Alistair. Let's work together and try to sort this thing out, okay?
    19:18, Nov 23 Alistair : ok 19:19, Nov 23 Alistair : its not just today though this is the second day on this
    19:22, Nov 23 Reliza: I'm so sorry about that, Alistair. However, if you really want to have the Hub 4 you can coordinate with our faults team regarding this because in this department we only handle the customers who are in need of new contract.
    19:25, Nov 23 Alistair : I DON'T HAVE ANY MORE TIME JUST CLOSE MY ACCOUNT
    Wednesday 24th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (33 minutes)
    16:57, Nov 24 Dixit: Hi Alistair I am so sorry to hear that you have not receive a response on your complaint not to worry I will quickly check the details and help you with a resolution
    17:06, Nov 24Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry to see that the hub was not delivered and you have applied to disconnect the account. May I know how can I help you today?
    17:07, Nov 24 You: well i am getting no repsonse on the forums so am looking for a conclusion one way or another
    17:08, Nov 24 You: have you read the forum posts?
    17:08, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry I am unable to read the forum as we are restricted from accessing any link.
    17:09, Nov 24 You: do you want acopy and paste of the transcripts for monday and tuesday then?
    17:09, Nov 24 You: if you don't have them there?
    17:10, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair No I have the details on the account notes. May I know what resolution you are looking for so I can get it Immediately.
    17:12, Nov 24 You: well what I have wanted all along a hub that will let me use 1gig as promised but if this can't befinalised today, I am on a 10 minute break just now at work. Then you close my account
    17:16, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair I am so sorry but to order the hub 4 we will need to cancel the disconnection request. So Would you like to go ahead and cancel it?
    17:16, Nov 24 You: if it can be done now yes
    17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    17:20, Nov 24 You: please don't use YODEL
    17:21, Nov 24 You: sorry ,my break is up I need to go back to work now
    17:22, Nov 24 You: see this is what I mean I spent 5 hrs on this chat yesterday and it looks like I am getting the same thing again today.
    17:22, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Not to worry I will leave a clear note on the account and then give a direct calling number to use so we will be able to do it once our free. will this be okay?
    17:23, Nov 24 You: someone needs to phone me not the other way round
    17:23, Nov 24 You: I will be at home tomorrow until 12:00 hrs

    Thursday 25th Nov 2021 VM Online Chat (46 minutes)
    Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Hi Arbiya
    8:05, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: Can you please look at the notes from my chat yesterday please?
    8:05, Nov 25 Arbiya: Hi Alistair! I am really sorry for the wait time you have experienced. I do see that you havecontacted in order to report that you are looking for cancellation. Not to worry, you have reached the rightteam. I can surely help you today. Absolutely, let me have a check on your account notes.
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: thanks
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: from the transcript
    8:06, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: 17:20, Nov 24 Dixit: Alistair Okay so I will now connect you to the Customer relations team and they will cancel the disconnection request and then get you connected to the care team who will order the Hub 4 for you.
    8:07, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: this is what we need to do. If this isn't possible then I will leave cancellation in place and start my ordert with another provider
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: I am really sorry for the inconvenience Alistair. Please do not worry. I do see the retentions team online now. I can connect you right away if you agree, they can surely help you getting hub 4. May I connectyou?
    8:09, Nov 25 Alistair Skakles Unsure + Account Holder: yes please
    8:09, Nov 25 Arbiya: We can transfer you through our Messaging service to our Customer Relations team to help you further.
    8:24, Nov 25 Lisa: I can see that and I will feed that back to Yodel but I can not order a new one.

    Received a final bill with a demand for £240 for termination of my contract early:
    Thurs 6th Jan 2021 VM Online Chat (2 hours 15 minutes)
    17:07, Jan 6 Meena: Thank you for your patience, I have looked into your account and I see you have cancelled services within the contract period and hence you have been charged early termination fee as per the terms and conditions Alistair.
    17:10, Jan 6 You: you ugprded me to 1GIG and sent out a router which was never delivered by yodel. I even requested another router which was refused. So unable to use the service as you didn't supply hardware I spent HOURS and I have proof trying to sort this mess out with you
    17:11, Jan 6 You: I couldn't use a service without the hardware so why would I stay with a provider that cannot provide?
    17:29, Jan 6 You: here I am again over 90 mins repeating myself and getting nowhere
    17:29, Jan 6 Meena: I am sorry to know about the hassle which you have come across Alistair, I feel really bad after going through all these and you have been so patient so far. Dont worry I will see what best can be done for you. But we could have definitely cancelled the order and placed a new one before cancelling Alistair.
    17:30, Jan 6 You: but you didn't and as per the transcripts refused to send out another until you got the one that Yodel lost Back
    17:31, Jan 6 You: yuou will see that the transcripts over the days contradict themselves
    17:44, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, I understand what you are telling but this is completely the issue with yodel and it was supposed to be dealt by them else we could have cancelled and replaced the order. I have tried my best Alistair, but unfortunately we cannot waive off the charges as you have been able to use the services and itcould have been resolved alternatively. But as you have cancelled it between contract, you was been charged with disconnection fee Alistair.
    17:46, Jan 6 You: Did you not read the information i poasted??
    17:52, Jan 6 Meena: Okay where you not informed that you will be charged termination fee if you are cancelling the contract Alistair?
    18:00, Jan 6 Meena: Alistair, we booked for the second time and you never waited for the delivery to be sent, you immediately put a request for disconnection Alistair. Please understand this charges cannot be removed as itsvalid from our end.
    18:03, Jan 6 You: no, i made contact with VM as you had not even bothetred to disptach the second one. Eve though yousaid you had. Enough, I will now seek compensation for the time and stress your company has continued toput me through over these months

    I have now raised a complaint through offcom and seeking an apology for time, stress, lies and incompetence and now compensation too.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Got the 100mbph as I assumed it would be good for working from home. Within these 18 months rarely have I had more than 15-25,mbph on average for download speed. The connection itself was unreliable kept dropping, leading me to some very big problems at work. Customer service is out of the question: an outsourced team at another country just copied and pasted the same useless response over and over again despite my desperate attempts to explain what the problem was. I felt like no one cared.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Terrible online chat service. Waited for half an hour for an agent. But it wasn’t really a chat, you have to answer some automated questions. I answered and it said it’s more than 15 mins ( I only took less than 1 min) and they have to close my chat. This is really insane ! Terrible service and really bad at everything
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isleworth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    My landlord won't change to another provider because he said Virgin is the cheapest. Well I do agree with him, cheapest internet quality I've ever seen. I can't count how many times we lost internet in the whole house (ethernet AND wifi). It's been for years like that. The modem recently was changed but there's no difference. Rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Northolt
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Speed is good when it works.

    I have no internet way too often. When working from home during this pandemic it doesn't help at all when the internet cuts off during meetings or first thing in the morning when I am trying to log on and work.

    Finally had enough with virgin media will leave once my contract is up.

    In addition to that the customer service from them is the worst i have ever experienced.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Broadstairs
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Speed is great when it works but that’s the problem. I’ve been with virgin about 3 months and so far I’ve had about 3 occasions that it’s been down. May not seem much but in the previous 4 years with sky I had one time with no internet. Don’t think I’ll renew with virgin when my contact is up.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Carshalton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Ok when it's working but it goes down frequently. Working from home is virtually impossible with Virgin media
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Doncaster
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid.

    Fibre kept cutting out often & once out of contract our bill doubled in price.

    Tried to leave and they said they could lower our bill back to it’s original price if we stayed so we (stupidly) agreed and kept having issues so decided we would in fact leave.

    When we went to cancel again they said we’d started a new contract when they lowered our bill (even though we weren’t sent one) so we had £100+ of early cancellation fees & had to pay for the next months bill too. We agreed to all this just to be done with them.

    We then continued to be billed each month even though we’d cancelled so I had to contact them again to find out what was going on & they said our account was still active and if we wanted to cancel we’d have to pay our outstanding bills, our early cancellation fees and the next months bill unless we could prove we’d cancelled it.

    I then had to contact a different team to request the call log (we’d wrote the date and time of the call) and they found we had in fact cancelled and they had no idea why it hadn’t gone through and had now cancelled it properly.

    I’ve now had a bill through of £88 of early cancellation fees.

    Just an absolute hassle and money grabbing for a very poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uxbridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Comments
    The bad company witch I see in Uk. They lie me say I have plug in my house from their company, and propose internet. Ok . 1,5 month I wait their installation. So they was first
    Time at me after 2 weeks after our appointment, and say ohhh you need cable, you don’t have cable . Ok .in that time I booked again another appointment for install cable , after other 2 weeks they come and say again “ you need cable , we didn’t know about cable “ ok . Again book other appointment after other 2 weeks, and in that day when we have appointment we call at they to ask if come or not, they say “ you don’t have appointment for today “ . So I lose 1 month and 2 weeks. Do not choose this company never
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brighton
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    e-mail down again, impossible to get support from VM, rubbish company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Slough
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Never trust this rubbish provider. They confirmed the installation is 8th Dec. After disconnected from the other provider, on the night of 7th Dec they decided to move the installation to the 4th Jan !!
    I claimed compensation for the disturbance they caused to me. They offered a bill credit. I complained about the disturbance they caused to me and requested a temp internet. They said they will send a dongle. This should been received but never received and whenever I call them they keep transfer me from one to another until my call is disconnected !!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    PORTSMOUTH
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Have been with VM for over 30 years. Never had great service but owing to needs has stayed with them. Absolutely the worst customer service and a nightmare to speak to someone to sort out any issues. Recent example. Changed package from m200 Bb and TV package to a M50 Lover TV and WE phone. Promised the cost at £37.00 PM for 18 months. When confirmation email comes they have charged £48.00. totally useless .

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.